Road rac­ing’s finest pre­sented with RAC Se­grave Tro­phy ‘He is the great­est liv­ing ex­po­nent of the TT with 23 wins to his name’

Motorcycle News (UK) - - This Week -

sle of Man TT su­per­star John Mcguin­ness has been awarded the Se­grave Tro­phy by the Royal Au­to­mo­bile Club for his “out­stand­ing con­tri­bu­tion to mo­tor­cy­cle road and cir­cuit rac­ing, in­clud­ing set­ting the out­right lap record at the 2015 Isle of Man TT.” The ci­ta­tion con­tin­ued: “He is the great­est liv­ing ex­po­nent of the TT, with 23 vic­to­ries to his name.”

The Se­grave Tro­phy is named af­ter Bri­tish pi­lot and pre-war rac­ing driver, Sir Henry Se­grave, the first man to hold both land and wa­ter speed records, though he lost his life in 1930 while at­tempt­ing to set an­other wa­ter record. The Tro­phy is awarded for ‘out­stand­ing skill, courage and ini­tia­tive on land, wa­ter and in air – the Spirit of Ad­ven­ture’.

Speak­ing at the awards Tom Purves,

IChair­man of the Royal Au­to­mo­bile Club, said: “It is our hon­our to sa­lute John’s ca­reer and his re­mark­able suc­cess, par­tic­u­larly at the Isle of Man TT where he be­came the first rider to achieve an av­er­age speed of over 130mph and, in 2015, set a new out­right lap record of 132.701 mph.

“Lady Se­grave com­mis­sioned the Tro­phy in 1930, soon af­ter her hus­band died af­ter break­ing the wa­ter speed record on Lake Windermere. John’s brav­ery and speed are the ex­act quali- ties Lady Se­grave wished to cel­e­brate.”

Mcguin­ness said: “I’m very hon­oured to re­ceive this pres­ti­gious award. It’s some­thing a lit­tle dif­fer­ent and I’m in good com­pany when you look at the mo­tor­cy­cling greats who have pre­vi­ously re­ceived this. I have mas­sive re­spect for ev­ery­one who has been a part of its his­tory and I am so proud to now have my name along­side some of my heroes.”

The Tro­phy is only awarded if the Se­grave Nom­i­na­tions Com­mit­tee judge there to be a suit­able re­cip­i­ent that meets the cri­te­ria of the award, and has been awarded eight times to mo­tor­cy­cle rac­ers, in­clud­ing Ge­off Duke (1951), Barry Sheene (twice, in 1977 and 1984), Mike Hail­wood (1979), Steve Web­ster (1991), Carl Fog­a­rty (1994), Joey Dun­lop (2000) and John Sur­tees (2012).

The RAC’S Tom Purves presents John Mcguin­ness with the Se­grave Tro­phy Fans’ favourite, John Mcguin­ness is cer­tainly no stranger to win­ning The MSX125, known as Grom in Ja­pan, will have its own race se­ries Al­though not vin­tage, Suzuki’s pol­icy will cove

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.