Yamaha rule in Le Mans

Motorcycle News (UK) - - Sport -

The GMT94 Yamaha squad of David Checa, Nic­colo Canepa and Mick­ael Di Meglio have taken the race vic­tory af­ter 24 hours of rac­ing in Le Mans, com­ing out just ahead of fel­low Yamaha squad YART to take the win by less than 20 sec­onds of rac­ing af­ter 860 laps of the French cir­cuit.

The pair diced un­til the fi­nal stages of the race to­gether, af­ter a fall for the SRC Kawasaki team left them out of con­tention, just ahead of the SERT Suzuki team rid­ing for the first time with­out An­thony Del­halle, who was killed test­ing ear­lier this year.

The SERT team also re­tain cham­pi­onship- leader sta­tus thanks to the cham­pi­onship’s new win­ter for­mat, with fourth place along­side their win at last year’s Bol d’or enough to main­tain a nar­row three-point lead over the Kawasaki team.

Flat out for 24 hours and still the GMT squad only won by 19 sec­onds

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.