School’s an­nual awards cer­e­mony

North Wales Weekly News - - WRITTEN BY YOU -

YS­GOL Dyf­fryn Conwy re­cently held its an­nual Awards Cer­e­mony.

Guest speaker Sean Tay­lor inspired the au­di­ence with tales of his suc­cesses and the ex­pe­ri­ences that have led him to his var­i­ous busi­ness ven­tures within the Conwy Val­ley and be­yond.

Pupils were awarded for aca­demic suc­cess in their end of key stage three, GCSE, AS and A Level re­sults. Re­cip­i­ents in­cluded To­mos Ar­fon who re­ceived an award from the Ro­tary for his ex­cel­lent 8A* and 3As at GCSE; Aron Kirk­man and Vik­tor He­witt who both won the Dr Harold Wil­liams award for their ex­cel­lent A level re­sults this sum­mer. Amongst the school’s guests and spon­sors on the evening were Mr Richard Howes and Mr Graham St John-Gil­lan from Dyf­fryn Conwy Ro­tary Club, the Mayor of Llan­r­wst, Mr Nel­son Herr and Mr Edgar Jones rep­re­sent­ing the Llan­r­wst His­tor­i­cal So­ci­ety.

The evening’s Spe­cial Recog­ni­tion award went to the school’s unique and tal­ented Eques­trian Club fol­low­ing their huge suc­cess at Bury Farm last sum­mer.

The evening was also an op­por­tu­nity to launch the school’s Rugby De­vel­op­ment Of­fi­cer post which has been de­vel­oped in part­ner­ship with the WRU, Nant Conwy Rugby Club and spon­sors Zip World.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.