End of sea­son bowls awards

Top play­ers hon­oured as sil­ver is handed out

Rutherglen Reformer - - Prize Time - Mur­ray Spooner

Ruther­glen Bowl­ing Club brought down the cur­tain on an en­ter­tain­ing year on the greens as they held their last in­ter­nal tour­na­ment of the sea­son.

The Hutcheon Tro­phy, which is a bal­loted fours for­mat, was won by Ian Latta, Les Warnock, Wal­lace Hay and Bobby King. The vic­to­ri­ous team beat Ian Barr, Ge­orge Beattie, Billy Doyle and Mur­ray Yule in the fi­nal.

Ruther­glen ladies had a pre­sen­ta­tion of prizes on Thurs­day while the gents prize-giv­ing took place on Satur­day night.

●At Burn­side BC’s an­nual prize­giv­ing last week, Cammy Tay­lor claimed three tro­phies after get­ting back to his best this sea­son, in­clud­ing the Pres­i­dents Prize and the Bet Fred Tro­phy.

He also won, with the help of team­mate Iain Mack­in­tosh, the Nom­i­nated Pairs tro­phy. The Bal­loted Two Bowl Pairs pro­vided a great shock when it was won by Ken­neth Stir­ratt and Peter Mon­aghan.

The pairs tour­na­ments are al­ways keenly fought and John Sin­clair and Peter Mon­aghan took the Vice Pres­i­dent Pairs.

Kenny sur­prised ev­ery­one a sec­ond time when he won the Nom­i­nated Two Bowl Pairs with the sup­port of Iain Mack­in­tosh. The Mixed Pairs Cup was won by Mrs. J. Robert­son and Mr A. Neil.

The Nom­i­nated Triples was once again keenly fought with the team of Peter Mon­aghan, David Ly­burn and An­drew Wil­son com­bin­ing youth, age and ex­pe­ri­ence to lift the tro­phy.

Burn­side’s JVP Fours tro­phy is al­ways a favourite at the club and this year the team of Ed­die Ste­wart, Jim Burns, Jack Con­nolly mas­ter­fully skipped by Wal­ter Matthews tasted vic­tory.

●At Half­way and District, in the resched­uled Ge­orge Mair Triples, spon­sored by Donachie Char­tered Ac­coun­tants, 18 of the orig­i­nal 22 en­tered teams par­tic­i­pated.

The even­tual win­ners were the Tem­ple­ton triple of Shan­ice Good­win, Ed­die Mel­lon and Robert Pye. They de­feated the Half­way triple of Hugh Geb­bie, John MacFar­lane and Stephen McIn­tyre in a close fi­nal.

John Mur­ray and Jim Wil­son beat Robert Thom­son and Martin McIl­ree in an en­ter­tain­ing match in the Gents Se­nior Pairs fi­nal.

●At Cam­bus­lang BC, The Ladies an­nual Betty Keary tour­na­ment was won by Mary McCor­mack be­ing pre­sented with the tro­phy by Sandy Keary.

The Bal­loted Pairs tour­na­ment also took place on Satur­day, Septem­ber 30 where honorary pres­i­dent Ian Skillen and Ralph Caldwell took the hon­ours in the twelve team com­pe­ti­tion.

Betty Keary Tour­na­ment cham­pion Mary McCor­mack is pre­sented with the tro­phy by Sandy Keary

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.