Far­rell and Itoje on five-man short­list for World Rugby Player of the Year

The Daily Telegraph - Sport - - Rugby Union -

Eng­land duo Maro Itoje and Owen Far­rell, who were both rested last week­end by Ed­die Jones against Ar­gentina, have been in­cluded on a five-man short­list for the 2017 World Rugby Player of the Year award.

Itoje and Far­rell both starred for Sara­cens as the club won a sec­ond suc­ces­sive Cham­pi­ons Cup and were part of the Eng­land side who took this year’s Six Na­tions. The pair went on to fea­ture promi­nently for the Bri­tish and Ir­ish Li­ons in their drawn se­ries in New Zealand.

The oth­ers nom­i­nated in­clude 2016 win­ner Beau­den Bar­rett, the All Blacks fly-half, along with New Zealand wing Rieko Ioane, who has also been nom­i­nated for the Young Player of the Year award, and Aus­tralia full-back Is­rael Fo­lau. Only Richie Mccaw has won back-to-back awards – in in 2009 and 2010.

Kelly Bra­zier (New Zealand), Ro­mane Me­nager (France), Safi N’di­aye (France), Ly­dia Thomp­son (Eng­land) and Por­tia Wood­man (New Zealand) have all been nom­i­nated for the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Sup­port­ers can vote for both awards on the World Rugby web­site, and the win­ner will be an­nounced at the World Rugby awards in Monte Carlo on Nov 26.

Ben Coles

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.