The Guardian - G2 - - Reviews classical -

Van der Hei­j­den/ Li­monov


Nearly six years af­ter win­ning the BBC young mu­si­cian of the year, cel­list Laura van der Hei­j­den makes her record­ing de­but with an all-rus­sian disc that shows her to be, at 20, al­ready a thought­ful artist with much to say. The ti­tle refers to the year of Stalin’s damn­ing de­cree against Soviet com­posers seen to be writ­ing mu­sic for art’s sake rather than the good of the party; Myaskovsky’s de­fi­antly lyri­cal Cello Sonata was writ­ten that year, Prokofiev’s – char­ac­ter­ful yet be­nign – the next. Also here are an 1885 B mi­nor

Pre­lude by their teacher Lyadov, and the melan­choly, lovely 1956 Five Pieces by Yuri Sha­porin. Van der Hei­j­den and pi­anist Petr Li­monov bring a per­fectly judged weight, the cello singing out long lines of sus­tained in­ten­sity that get to the heart of this soul­ful mu­sic. Erica Jeal

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.