Short­list out for Saltire Awards

The Herald - - FRONT PAGE -

JAMES Kel­man, Bernard MacLaverty and Denise Mina fea­ture along­side emerg­ing tal­ents Ever Dun­das and Kate Hunter in 2017 Saltire Lit­er­ary Awards short­lists.

The Saltire Lit­er­ary Awards are or­gan­ised by the Saltire So­ci­ety, an in­de­pen­dent char­ity founded in 1936 which aims “to cel­e­brate the Scot­tish imag­i­na­tion”.

The Fic­tion Book of the Year short­list fea­tures ac­claimed au­thors, in­clud­ing the lat­est nov­els from pre­vi­ous Saltire Lit­er­ary Award win­ners James Kel­man, Bernard MacLaverty and John Burn­side. Also fea­tured is Denise Mina, be­low, the first wo­man to win the McIl­l­van­ney prize for her short­listed novel, The Long Drop.

The First Book of the Year short­list fea­tures Goblin by Ever Dun­das, San­dra Ire­land’s Be­neath the Skin along­side the can­did life-mem­oir of an Ital­ian Scot, Anne Pia.

The Saltire Lit­er­ary Awards ex­panded in 2013 to see pub­lish­ers cel­e­brated for their work. This year Canon­gate and Bir­linn are short­listed along­side new­com­ers 404Ink who have had suc­cess with first pub­li­ca­tion Nasty Women.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.