All roads lead to Argyll for MacPhedrans clan reunion
MACPHEDRANS from Scotland, England, USA and Canada gathered in Inveraray last weekend for a clan reunion, then toured their historic sites in Argyll.
After talks on their origins by clan historians Angus Macmillan and Kenneth MacTaggart in the Nicol Hall, they went south to Keills Chapel near Tayvallich.
Here their oldest known ancestor Cormac MacPhedran’s grave stone is preserved, dating back to the 14th century.
At Killevin they also inspected the gravestone of John MacPhedran of Cladich House, Crarae. John, who died in 1751, was the Loch Fyne ferryman and the ancestor of everyone present. A ceilidh in Inveraray followed in the evening, with musicians from Benderloch.
The following days saw trips to Inveraray Castle to explore their Campbell connections and to Port Sonachan on Loch Awe, where their lands and ferry rights were traditionally granted for service to Robert the Bruce in the leadup to the Battle of Bannockburn.
They also visited the ancient MacPhedran arrow-making forge at Benderloch.