Green Ma­chine holds club din­ner and awards night Rugby

The Oban Times - - Sport -

OBAN Lorne RFC held its an­nual club din­ner on Satur­day May 13 in the club­house.

A packed au­di­ence of 1st XV, Ar­gyll and Bute and Oban Ladies play­ers along with past play­ers, sup­port­ers, spon­sors and friends of the club were kept well en­ter­tained through­out the evening.

Speak­ing at this year’s din­ner were club cap­tains Craig Wright, 1st XV, Roddy Mor­ri­son, Ar­gyll & Bute, and Camilla Les­lie, Oban Lorne Ladies.

The cap­tains were joined by lo­cal coun­cil­lor Roddy McCuish who handed over a sil­ver plate to for­mer Oban Lorne pres­i­dent Dee Brad­bury for her hard work over the years for the club and also to recog­nise her re­cent achieve­ment of be­ing elected vice pres­i­dent of the Scot­tish Rugby Union.

Oban Lorne in­terim pres­i­dent Mur­ray Hamil­ton also an­nouc­nced the club com­mi­tee has agreed to make Dee an hon­ourary pres­i­dent of Oban Lorne RFC.

Award win­ners on the night were as fol­lows; (Oban Lorne 1st XV, Ar­gyll & Bute RFC, Oban Lorne Ladies) - Best trainer - Calum MacLach­lan, Steven Parr and El­lie MacNiven; Best new­comer - Mal­colm Ka­vanagh, Alex Houston and Ge­or­gia Mitchell; Most Im­proved - Vladi Mi­hov, Kyle Gra­ham and Ni­cole Tay­lor; Most Points - Fin­lay Carmichael, Steven Parr and Lucy Ste­wart; Player of the Year - Vladi Mi­hov, Alex Maslokovics and Kirsty Sin­clair; Play­ers Player - Fin­lay Carmichael, Steven Parr and Ailsa MacLach­lan; Young Player - Jack Stra­chan, Kyle Gra­ham and Lucy Ste­wart; Club Per­son of the year - Tommy Suther­land and El­lie MacNiven.

The club thanks Roddy McCuish and Ar­gyll and Bute Coun­cil for their in­put and the Re­gent Ho­tel which catered for the event.

Club mem­bers are re­minded of the up­com­ing an­nual gen­eral meet­ing on Tuesday May 30 at 6pm in the club­house.

Pho­to­graphs: Stephen Lawson.

For­mer Oban Lorne club pres­i­dent Dee Brad­bury is pre­sented with a plate by coun­cil­lor Roddy McCuish in recog­ni­tion of her work over the years and on her re­cent elec­tion as vice pres­i­dent of the Scot­tish Rugby Union. Also pic­tured are club cap­tains Roddy Mor­ri­son, Craig Wright, Camilla Les­ley and in­terim club pres­i­dent Mur­ray Hamil­ton.

Kirsty Sin­clair, Lorne Ladies player of the year, with Dee Brad­bury and cap­tain Camilla Les­ley.

Dee Brad­bury and cap­tain Roddy Mor­ri­son with Stephen Parr who was voted Ar­gyll and Bute RFC play­ers’ player of the year.

Oban Lorne 1st XV player of the year Vladi Mi­hov with Dee Brad­bury and cap­tain Craig Wright.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.