Writ­ers scoop pres­ti­gious Gaelic awards

The Oban Times - - LEISURE -

The Don­ald Meek Award 2018 for the Gaelic Book of the Year has been pre­sented to Roddy Ma­cLean for his novel Còig Duil­la­gan na Seam­rag (The Five Leaves of the Sham­rock), at a cer­e­mony at the Na­tional Pip­ing Cen­tre in Glas­gow.

Roddy’s first novel, An Cre­anaiche (Sand­stone Press), was short­listed for the Don­ald Meek Award in 2015.

Ad­di­tional fund­ing from Bòrd na Gàidhlig has al­lowed the com­pe­ti­tion to broaden in re­cent years, and two other au­thors also went home with prizes – Mar­ion F Mor­ri­son from Barra, who re­ceived a place on the Gaelic New Writ­ers Awards pro­gramme with the Scot­tish Book Trust in 2017, was in se­cond place with her de­but po­etry col­lec­tion, Ad­hb­har ar Sòlais, and An­gus Pe­ter Camp­bell was awarded third prize for his crime novel Con­sta­bal Murdo.

The three prize-win­ning texts will all be pub­lished in the next few month.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.