Park­way com­plete Northants cup dou­ble down at the Manor

The Peterborough Evening Telegraph - - SPORT - By Melvyn Beck BOWLS COR­RE­SPON­DENT

Park­way com­pleted a Northants Bowl­ing Fed­er­a­tion cup dou­ble when they de­feated host club Whit­tle­sey Manor 57-45 in the Adams Cup de­cider to fol­low their suc­cess in the Dan Duffy club cham­pi­onship.

The rinks of Si­mon Law and Tris­tan Mor­ton were seven shot win­ners against Gra­ham Ag­ger and Lee Wels­ford re­spec­tively, with home club cap­tain Martin Wels­ford pre­vent­ing a clean sweep with a two shot de­feat of Jeff New­son’s trio.


Park­way bt Whit­tle­sey Manor 57-45 (Park­way rinks first):

Paul Dal­l­i­day, Neil Wright, Si­mon Law 21, Jack Cor­ney, Ge­off Staggs, Gra­ham Ag­ger 14. Karen Martin, Tony Scarr, Tris­tan Mor­ton 24, Melvyn Beck, Tony Mace, Lee Wels­ford 17. Howard Shipp, Val & Jeff New­son 12, Roger Stevens, Robert Bur­bridge, Martin Wels­ford 14.


The Bowls Eng­land na­tional cham­pi­onships got un­der way in Leam­ing­ton at the week­end and there were last 16 de­feats for Hunts rep­re­sen­ta­tives in the ju­nior sin­gles and se­nior pairs.

Chloe Brett (Park­way) de­feated Becky May­nard (Herts) 21-13 and Rachel Hamill (Glos) 21-11 be­fore los­ing 7-21 to Alice Phillimore in her bid to reach the quar­ter-fi­nals.

Af­ter re­ceiv­ing a walkover in the first round, So­phie Pur­rell (Holy­well cum Need­ing­worth) was beaten 16-21 in the sec­ond round by Amy Richards (Here­ford­shire).

Both girls are back in ac­tion to­day com­pet­ing in the four­bowl sin­gles.

For­mer Eng­land in­ter­na­tion­als Val New­son and Pat Reynolds (Park­way) were pipped 18-19 in the last 16 of the se­nior pairs by Devon’s Jean Chud­ley and Jenny Daw­son af­ter an open­ing round 2312 de­feat of Pam Green and Jean Petty (War­wick­shire).

Sheila Craig (Con­ser­va­tive) car­ries lo­cal hopes in the se­nior sin­gles which gets un­der way on Satur­day, and then the main em­pha­sis will be on the triples in which Hunts will be rep­re­sented by the Park­way club – Emma Thurston, Han­nah Over­ton and Pat Rey- nolds; Mer­isha McKer­nan, sub­sti­tut­ing for the in­jured Sarah New­son, Val New­son and Cather­ine Pop­ple.

The two-bowl sin­gles starts on Tues­day with Karen Leader (Sawtry) and Cather­ine Pop­ple (Park­way) rep­re­sent­ing Hunts.

Hunts will be rep­re­sented in the men’s se­nior sec­tion at the fi­nals later this month by West Ward’s Dick No­ble and Whit­tle­sey Manor pair Steve Lan­der and Gra­ham Ag­ger.

No­ble de­feated Trevor Dighton (St Ives) 21-14 in the county fi­nal of the over 55 sin­gles, while Lan­der and Ag­ger were 30-18 win­ners at War­boys against Lind­say and Lee Swan­nell in the over 55 pairs de­cider.


Peter­bor­ough & District have re­tained the Peter­bor­ough League’s Al­bert Rowlett Cup with a 65-43 vic­tory over East Com­mu­nity at Yax­ley, home club of League pres­i­dent Bruce Saint.

East Com­mu­nity, com­pet­ing in a first cup fi­nal, put up a bold dis­play against the Pre­mier Divi­sion club, but a ru­n­away 28-11 win for the rink of Jenny Har­vey, Mick Greaves and Alec Emery did the dam­age for the hold­ers.

Hon­ours were shared on the other two rinks, with Wilf Red­head’s trio win­ning by five for District, and Den­nis Pin­shon’s rink snatch­ing a one shot vic­tory on the last end to pro­vide East Com­mu­nity with some con­so­la­tion.

Peter­bor­ough & District cap­tain Jeff Clip­ston missed the fi­nal through in­jury.


Peter­bor­ough & District bt East Com­mu­nity 6543 (District rinks first):

Dave Cor­ney, Cliff Wat­son, Ray Keat­ing 16, Ron Gre­gory, Andy Cox, Den­nis Pin­schon 17. Wendy Stevens, Brian Bas­sam, Wilf Red­head 21, Ralph Good­man, Paul Am­brose, Martin Tib­bles 15. Jenny Har­vey, Mick Greaves, Alec Emery 28, Nor­man Gray, Ge­off Biggs, Peter Cooke 11.

Adams Cup win­ners Park­way with Northants Bowl­ing Fed­er­a­tion pres­i­dent Tony Mace. From the left are, back, Si­mon Law, Tris­tan Mor­ton, Neil Wright, Tony Scarr, Paul Dal­l­i­day, front, Jeff New­son, Val New­son, NBF pres­i­dent Tony Mace, Karen Martin, Howard Ship

Rowlett Cup win­ners Peter­bor­ough & District with Peter­bor­ough League pres­i­dent Bruce Saint. From the left are, back, Brian Bas­sam, Cliff Wat­son, Wilf Red­head, Mick Greaves, Ray Keat­ing, front, Dave Cor­ney, Wendy Stevens, Alec Emery, League pres­i­dent Bruce

Janet Jag­gard, daugh­ter of the tro­phy donor, presents the Al­bert Rowlett Cup to Peter­bor­ough & District cap­tain Jeff Clip­ston in the pres­ence of Peter­bor­ough League pres­i­dent Bruce Saint.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.