SITUATED in the centre of the city, Dudhope Park is considerably smaller than Camperdown but it does boast its own castle.
Built in the late 13th century, ownership was eventually passed to John Graham of Claverhouse, aka Bonnie Dundee, and it was from there that he departed for Killiecrankie in 1689, the battle which resulted in his death.
The castle and grounds were bought by Dundee town council in 1890, and the building was used as a barracks in both world wars. A plan by Dundee corporation to demolish it in 1958 was never carried out and after development between 1985 to 1988 it has been used as offices for Dundee City Council and as the University of Abertay’s Dundee Business School.
The park itself has facilities that include tennis courts, a skateboarding park, a play area and a five-a-side pitch.
● A time gun was once located in the castle grounds and fired daily at 1pm. However, this stopped in 1916 so patients in nearby Dundee Royal Infirmary would not be disturbed.