Rules con­fu­sion #1

Today's Golfer (UK) - - First Tee -

Your fea­ture on the Rules of Golf (is­sue 358) stated that a ball can be re-dropped if it rolls and comes to rest; Closer to the hole than the orig­i­nal po­si­tion or the near­est point of re­lief; more than two club lengths from where the ball first struck the ground; or in a po­si­tion where there is in­ter­fer­ence by the con­di­tion, from which re­lief was taken. The word “can” sug­gests that I may have a choice, but I al­ways thought it was com­pul­sory… JOHN ROGERS, EMAIL Ed’s re­ply: Rule 20-2c does in­deed dic­tate that the ball must be re-dropped – with­out penalty – if any of the above sce­nar­ios oc­cur. Fail­ure to do so in­curs a loss of hole in match­play or a two-shot penalty in stroke­play.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.