We had no choice but to go to print be­fore the con­clu­sion of the 2017 Wessex Plant Hire Side­car Bri­tish Cham­pi­onship, so in this ar­ti­cle in our first is­sue of 2018 we have a look at the series. With eleven rounds spread around the coun­try nine would count


2017 Side­car


Go­ing all the way to the wire, Jon Tuck/Matt Sparkes held a slen­der one­point ad­van­tage hav­ing won five of the ten rounds over Nigel Crellin/Chris Molyneux who had won four as they ap­proached the fi­nal round. These two teams had dom­i­nated this class, tak­ing all the wins apart from a sur­prise vic­tory from Ru­pert and Chris Kim­ber in round three back in April. The ac­tion be­tween the two chal­lengers for the 2017 ti­tle was al­ways go­ing to be close as Jon Tuck and Matt Sparkes had to re­pair a punc­ture in the rear wheel of the TRS ear­lier in the day. Hold­ing the ad­van­tage for most of the day these two had a scare when they stopped in the last-but-one sec­tion of the day, to fin­ish just a sin­gle mark in front of Nigel Crellin and Chris Molyneux who were de­nied the ti­tle.


It was the male/fe­male pair­ing of Wil­liam Caine and Beth Thomas who dom­i­nated the In­ter­me­di­ate class with a full house of wins in the nine rounds they con­tested on the Gas Gas. They were the only pair­ing in the four classes of the cham­pi­onship to achieve this con­sis­tency, which put the cham­pi­onship be­yond reach of all the other rid­ers by tak­ing a full 180 points. No one had an an­swer to this con­sis­tency. The run­ner-up po­si­tion would go in favour of David Tuck and Joe New­man, who took vic­tory in round ten and pushed Tony Jones and Jamie Howe into the last place on the podium as Si­mon Evans and Nick Hard­ing took vic­tory at the fi­nal round. As with Class A, a to­tal of eight side­car crews scored points in the eleven rounds.


With a to­tal of 20 side­car crews scor­ing points over the course of the sea­son this was al­ways go­ing to be a dif­fi­cult class to win. Tak­ing six wins from the nine they con­tested, Manx­men Damien Owen and Gaz Tem­ple took a clear cham­pi­onship win and opted out of the fi­nal two rounds. Sec­ond place in the series was con­tested at the fi­nal round and Nigel and Gra­cie-Mae Scott man­aged to keep Paul Fishlock and Deb­bie Mer­rell, who had won two ear­lier rounds in the sum­mer months, at bay as they took third over­all. With so many rid­ers scor­ing points the cham­pi­onship po­si­tions lower down the or­der were played out in the fi­nal round, in this very com­pet­i­tive class.


De­spite the fact that it en­cour­ages any­one to have a go, the Class D New­com­ers was very poorly sup­ported. Matt Bond and Aleyn Tag­gart won the cham­pi­onship as Chris New­sham and Sam Ather­ton won the fi­nal round. Trial Mag­a­zine would like to thank Karen and Joel Crab­tree for their sup­port in gen­er­at­ing this ar­ti­cle.

Jon Tuck/Matt Sparkes (Wessex SXS TRS)

Nigel Crellin/Chris Molyneux (BMS Scorpa)

David Tuck/Joe New­man (Wessex TRS)

Karl Jarvis/Jana Gross­man (Scorpa)

Oliver Lace & Eal­ish Bax­ter (Lace Auto Gas Gas)

Robin Head/Adam Ja­cobs (Beta)

Wil­liam Caine/Beth Thomas (Good With Wood Gas Gas)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.