Two of the biggest and the best in North Yorkshire
1930s with much older origins. The original Hermitage features on a map of 1660 in York Minster Library when the lake was known as the “York Minster Stew Pond”. During the Middle Ages, when the gates of York were closed, the Hermitage was used as a resting place for important visitors heading to the coast. In the 1850s, Scots pines were planted to provide cavalry horses with shade when on exercise.
During the Second World War it was used for convalescing officers who would swim in the lake. The attic still boasts the remains of morse code aerials.
The stone used for the garden walls was taken from around Clifford’s Tower, when the great defensive walls were pulled down in the 1930s. The principal house has 6922 sq ft. of space and there is a four-bedroom farmhouse with garden, three cottages, stabling, outbuildings and farm buildings.
The Old Rectory is in a stunning rural position. The Hermitage is steeped in history.
YOUR OWN ESTATE: