Fire­cracker facts

Austin American-Statesman - - SPORTS BRIEFING -

Roude­bush is one of seven for­mer cham­pi­ons in the field of this year’s Fire­cracker Open. The oth­ers are Mike Allen (1974), Steven Bright (2002), Billy Clagett (1988, 1990-91, 1993-94 and 2001), Michael Cooper (2003, 2008), Bren­den Red­fern (2007) and Tim Wil­son (197576).

If Roude­bush wins this week­end, he will join an elite list of play­ers to win backto-back Fire­cracker Opens. Those win­ners are Billy Clagett (1990-91 and 1993-94), Doug Nelle (1977-78), Robby Or­mand (2005-06), Claude Wilde Jr. (1949-50) and Tim Wil­son (1975-76)

This year’s Fire­cracker field has 170 en­tries, 140 of them in the cham­pi­onship di­vi­sion.

A Fire­cracker Open tra­di­tion will con­tinue this year with the two-per­son best-ball putting con­test, which will be held at the end of play Satur­day.

Four Fire­cracker Open win­ners have gone on to the PGA Tour: Ben Cren­shaw, Tom Kite, Randy Petri and Omar Uresti.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.