Kyle Busch wins ESPY for ‘Best Driver’

Cecil Whig - - SPORTS - Staff RE­PORT

NASCAR Wire Service

Kyle Busch last night added an­other tro­phy to a rapidly grow­ing col­lec­tion, win­ning ‘Best Driver’ at the 24th an­nual ESPY Awards, held at the Mi­crosoft Theater in Los An­ge­les.

Busch, the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series cham­pion, re­ceived the most votes among fel­low nom­i­nees 2015 IndyCar Series Cham­pion Scott Dixon, 2015 For­mula One World Driver’s Cham­pion Lewis Hamil­ton, 2016 In­di­anapo­lis 500 win­ner Alexan­der Rossi, and 2015 NHRA Pro Stock Cham­pion Erica En­ders-Stevens.

“I’m hon­ored to be able to win the ESPY for Best Driver this year,” Busch said. “I can’t thank ev­ery­one on my team enough, but also can’t thank M&M’S and Toy­ota enough for all of their sup­port as well. I also want to thank all the fans that took the time to vote and help make this award pos­si­ble for my­self and our team.”

Busch’s dra­matic cham­pi­onship run be­gan with a wreck at Day­tona that broke his right leg and left foot, which forced him to miss the first 11 races of the sea­son. Soon af­ter his re­turn, Busch un­leashed one of the more mem­o­rable cham­pi­onship runs, one that fea­tured three con­sec­u­tive wins – in­clud­ing a vic­tory at In­di­anapo­lis Mo­tor Speed­way – and a walk-off vic­tory in the sea­son fi­nale at Home­stead-Mi­ami Speed­way to se­cure his first premier series ti­tle.

Busch be­came the eighth NASCAR driver to win the award in the last ten years. Other win­ners in­clude Kevin Har­vick, Tony Ste­wart, Jim­mie John­son (four con­sec­u­tive years) and Jeff Gor­don.


Kyle Busch poses with the Coors Light Pole Award af­ter qual­i­fy­ing for the pole po­siotn for the NASCAR XFIN­ITY Series Alsco 300 at Ken­tucky Speed­way on July 8, 2016 in Sparta, Ky. Busch is pic­tured in his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series fire suit.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.