Cecil Whig - - FRONT PAGE -

and a bro­ken shoul­der, kept him in the hos­pi­tal for about two weeks.

“I want to first thank the first re­spon­ders who saved me and ask every­one to be re­spon­si­ble driv­ers ... but, I es­pe­cially thank you for the sun­rise,” said Cus­mano to a stand­ing ova­tion from the room.

Cecil County Di­rec­tor of Emer­gency Ser­vices Richard Brooks re­minded those who at­tended the ap­pre­ci­a­tion din­ner at the Up­per Ch­e­sa­peake Ball­room in North East that first re­spon­ders of­ten have pretty tough days.

County Cham­ber of Com­merce Pres­i­dent and CEO Bon­nie Grady called the event, which was held for the first time this year, “his­toric” and one that will grow big­ger each year.

“We are in­debted to you. You are our he­roes,” Grady said as she and County Cham­ber Chair­man Jake Ruddy be­gan hand­ing out cer­tifi­cates of ap­pre­ci­a­tion to 38 mem­bers of fire com­pa­nies, law en­force­ment agencies and emer­gency ser­vices or­ga­ni­za­tions from all over Cecil County.

Each re­cip­i­ent was se­lected by the su­pe­ri­ors in their or­ga­ni­za­tion to be hon­ored for out­stand­ing work.

The hon­orees in­clude: Trooper Charles Tit­tle of the Mary­land State Po­lice North East Bar­rack, Lt. Stephen Cum­mins and Lt. Sa­man­tha Riley, both of EMS, Sgt. Wil­liam Jolly in the Cecil County De­ten­tion Cen­ter, Sgt. Ron­ald Sch­midt of the Cecil County Sher­iff’s Of­fice, Cecil Col­lege Chief of Pub­lic Safety Wil­liam Wool­ston, Del­marva Power trou­ble­man Kyle Schaen, Ce­cil­ton Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany Truck Capt. Joe Ma­haf­fey, Ce­cil­ton Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany EMS Capt. Dave Sak­ers Jr. and Ce­cil­ton Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany board mem­ber Char­lie O’Neal.

Hon­orees from the Charlestown Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany in­cluded Truck Capt. Jason Bar­row, cap­tain and board mem­ber Mark Rhodes and As­sis­tant Chief Thomas Bick­ing.

Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany of Ch­e­sa­peake City se­lected Deputy Chief Jef­frey Rit­ter, Para­medic and EMS sec­re­tary Randy McLen­nan, and Sec­re­tary and board mem­ber Heather Cun­ning­ham.

Elk­ton Po­lice De­part­ment picked Of­fi­cer Thomas Sauls­bury, who was also their of­fi­cer of the year in 2015.

Hack’s Point Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany se­lected as­sis­tant chief and board mem­ber Frank Red­ford, EMS Lt. Mary Wass­mer and Fundrais­ing Chair Joan Booth for recog­ni­tion.

The North East Vol­un­teer Fire Com­pany chose Terry Allen, a fire­fighter, Ed­win Hoover, an EMT, and Koty Ross Wright, chair of build­ing main­te­nance, for recog­ni­tion.

The North East Po­lice De­part­ment se­lected Cpl. Stephen Yates while Per­ryville Po­lice De­part­ment se­lected Det. Jerry Warner.

The Com­mu­nity Fire Com­pany of Per­ryville chose Lt. Bradley Wil­lis, who is as­sis­tant chief; EMS Cap­tain Brit­tany Spies and First As­sis­tant Chief Brian Jones.

The Com­mu­nity Fire Com­pany of Ris­ing Sun se­lected Wil­liam Cul­ver, a fire­fighter; EMS Lt. Melissa Kear­ney and Trea­surer Suzanne Wehry, while the Ris­ing Sun Po­lice De­part­ment picked Mas­ter Po­lice Of­fi­cer Stephen S. McKin­ney, who serves as the de­part­ment’s school re­source of­fi­cer and D.A.R.E. in­struc­tor.

Singerly Fire Com­pany chose John Ye­d­i­nak Sr., a fire­fighter, driver and as­sis­tant en­gi­neer, along with EMS Lt. Kara Budzialek and Di­rec­tor Franklyn Lewis, who is in charge of fundrais­ing.

Water Witch Fire Com­pany of Port De­posit hon­ored Ran­dall T. Ban­non, a fire­fighter, EMS Cap­tain Karen Mott and EMS Chief Wayne Tome Sr.


County Di­rec­tor of Emer­gency Ser­vices Richard Brooks speaks dur­ing the Cecil County First Re­spon­ders Ap­pre­ci­a­tion Din­ner on Thurs­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.