Coun­try stars to be honored in ACM TV spe­cial

Chattanooga Times Free Press - - ENTERTAINMENT NEWS -

NASHVILLE — Ge­orge Strait, Dolly Par­ton, Kelsea Bal­lerini, Eric Church, Reba McEn­tire, Toby Keith, Wil­lie Nel­son and Shel Sil­ver­stein will be honored by the Academy of Coun­try Mu­sic dur­ing a tele­vi­sion spe­cial.

ACM an­nounced Tues­day the spe­cial award hon­orees for the ACM Hon­ors show, to be held in Nashville on Aug. 23 and broad­cast at a later date on CBS.

Strait will re­ceive the Cliffie Stone Icon Award and Par­ton will re­ceive the Gary Haber Lift­ing Lives Award. The Gene Weed Mile­stone Award will go to Bal­lerini, while Church will re­ceive the Merle Hag­gard Spirit Award. McEn­tire and ra­dio DJ Bob Kings­ley will re­ceive the Mae Boren Ax­ton Ser­vice Award, while Keith, Nel­son and Sil­ver­stein will get the Poet’s Award.

The TV show “Nashville” will re­ceive the Tex Rit­ter Film Award.

Dolly Par­ton

Ge­orge Strait

Wil­lie Nel­son

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.