DAILY BRIDGE CLUB

Chicago Sun-Times - - WEATHER - BY FRANK STE­WART

“Your honor,” the district at­tor­ney in­toned, “we will prove that South com­mit­ted a felony in that he went down at a cold game.”

“State your case,” the judge in­structed, and the court kib­itzed the ev­i­dence.

“Against four spades,” the DA said, “West cashed the A-K of hearts and shifted to a trump. South drew trumps and led a di­a­mond from dummy to fi­nesse with his queen. West took the king, and East got a di­a­mond for down one.”

“My client couldn’t know West had only two di­a­monds,” South’s coun­sel roared. “If you want to pros­e­cute some­one, go af­ter East-West for not bid­ding five hearts. They would be un­lucky to go down.” Was South guilty of a mis­play? At Trick Five, South can lead dummy’s king of clubs as a “dis­cov­ery” play. If East cov­ers with the ace — only a su­per-ex­pert East would not — South can place West with the king of di­a­monds for his bid­ding. South ruffs the ace of clubs and leads the ace and a low di­a­mond, hop­ing West has K-x.

Daily ques­tion

You hold: ♠ 2 ♥ AKJ105 ♦ K9 ♣ Q 10 9 4 2. Your part­ner opens one club, you re­spond one heart and he bids one spade. What do you say?

An­swer: Even if part­ner has only A J 6 5,7 6, A6, K J 8 7 3, you can make six clubs. (You might have jump-shifted to two hearts at your first turn, plan­ning to sup­port the clubs next to show slam in­ter­est.) Jump to three clubs if that bid would be forc­ing in your part­ner­ship. If not, bid two di­a­monds, a stalling “fourth­suit” call.

West dealer

Both sides vul­ner­a­ble

©2020 TRI­BUNE CON­TENT AGENCY, LLC

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.