Daily Freeman (Kingston, NY) - - LOCAL NEWS -

At a re­cent Court of Honor held by Troop 8 Boy Scouts, spon­sored by the Sawkill Fire Depart­ment in Sawkill, N.Y., the fol­low­ing awards were pre­sented:

Rank Ad­vance­ments Ten­der­foot Scout — Jonathan Bloom, DJ Master­son, Kenny Hanley, Wil­liam McDonough, Con­rad Witte, Pa­trick Sny­der and Ai­den Gard­ner.

Se­cond Class Scout — Jonathan Bloom, Kenny Hanley, DJ Master­son, Wil­liam McDonough, Ni­cholas Myer, Zachary Sch­midt and Dil­lon Watzka.

First Class Scout — Ni­cholas Myer and Zachary Sch­midt.

Star Scout — Rus­sell Diers.

Life Scout — Rus­sell Diers, Wil­liam Reload and Pa­trick Watzka.

Merit badges Jonathan Bloom — First Aid, Geo­caching and Pub­lic Speak­ing.

Christo­pher Decker — Search and Res­cue.

Rus­sell Diers — Ci­ti­zen­ship in the Com­mu­nity and Emer­gency Pre­pared­ness.

Nathaniel Farmer — Mu­sic.

Ai­den Gard­ner — First Aid. James Joy — Geo­caching. DJ Master­son — First Aid.

Wil­liam McDonough — First Aid, Fam­ily Life and Pub­lic Speak­ing.

Nathaniel Mitzel — Com­mu­ni­ca­tions, Per­sonal Fit­ness, Robotics, Space Ex­plo­ration and First Aid.

Ni­cholas Myer — Snow Sports, Fam­ily Life, Pub­lic Speak­ing and Geo­caching.

Zachary Sch­midt — Geo­caching and Snow Sports First Aid.

Tan­ner Scott — Camp­ing, Geo­caching, Law and Space Ex­plo­ration

Pa­trick Sny­der — First Aid.

Bren­dan Treloar — Draft­ing and Space Ex­plo­ration.

Wil­liam Treloar — Pub­lic Speak­ing and Space Ex­plo­ration.

Pa­trick Watzka — Fish­ing, Geo­caching and First Aid. Con­rad Witte — First Aid. Milo Witte — Draft­ing and Space Ex­plo­ration.

At­ten­dance Bars 1 Year Bar — Jonathan Bloom.

2 Year Bar — Kenny Hanley, Wil­liam McDonough, Ni­co­las My­ers, Zachary Sch­midt, Pa­trick Sny­der, Dy­lan Watzka and Con­rad Witte.

4 Year Bar — Rus­sell Diers.

5 Year Bar — Nathaniel Farmer, Nathaniel Mitzel, Tan­ner Scott, Wil­liam Treloar and Milo Witte.

6 Year Bar — Christo­pher Decker and Pa­trick Watzka.

7 Year Bar — Bren­dan Treloar.

Ser­vice Stars

1 Year — Kenny Hanley, DJ Master­son, Wil­liam McDonough, Ni­cholas Myer, Zachary Sch­midt, Pa­trick Sny­der, Dy­lan Watzka and Con­rad Witte. 2 Year — Ai­dan Gard­ner. 3 Year — Rus­sell Diers and Ethan Mont­fort.

4 Year — Michael Bigler, Nathaniel Farmer, Eric Gor­man, Nathaniel Mitzel, Tan­ner Scott, Wil­liam Treloar and Milo Witte.

5 Year — Christo­pher Decker and Pa­trick Watzka.

6 Year — Bren­dan Treloar, James Joy and Hunter Wells.

Other Awards

The Troop 8 Scout of the Year Award and Medal was pre­sented to Wil­liam Treloar.

Win­ter Fest, Camp Hen­der­son, Sawkill In­vi­ta­tional 12th An­nual Cam­pout, Scout­ing for Food, Pop­corn and Cof­fee Sales, Win­ter Trek, Scout Show, First Aid Meet Patches and Rib­bons were awarded and all Pa­rade and Cer­e­mony par­tic­i­pa­tions ac­knowl­edged.

Troop 8Scouts Rus­sell Diers, Ni­cholas Myer, Tan­ner Scott, Wil­liam Treloar and Milo Witte were nom­i­nated into the Half Moon Lodge No. 28 Or­der of the Ar­row and per­formed their Or­deal Cer­e­monies. Scout­mas­ter Jim Treloar and As­sis­tant Scout Mas­ter Paul Myer were el­e­vated to Brother­hood. Ad­di­tion­ally, Christo­pher Decker was elected as Chief of Half Moon Lodge No. 28.

Com­mit­tee Chair Kim Decker com­pleted the Catskill Fire Tow­ers re­quire­ments, and As­sis­tant Scout Mas­ter Mike Decker com­pleted the Catskill 3500 Club re­quire­ments; patches awarded.

Rip Van Win­kle Coun­cil Rec­og­nized Troop No. 8 for ob­tain­ing the Jour­ney to Ex­cel­lence Gold Award for 2016, Fair Share/Friends of Scout­ing GOLD Level Award (>135 per­cent of Goal), High­est Unit To­tal for Scout­ing for Food, Prod­uct Sales To­tal Pop­corn Sold and Fair Share High­est Unit To­tal.

Se­lected to at­tend the 2017 Na­tional Scout

Jam­boree as part of the Rip Van Win­kle Coun­cil Con­tin­gency from Troop 8 were Scout­mas­ter Mike Decker, Se­nior Pa­trol Leader Christo­pher Decker, Pa­trol Leader Michael Bigler, Chap­lain Nathaniel Farmer, Bu­gler Rus­sell Diers, As­sis­tant Quar­ter Mas­ter Tan­ner Scott, James Joy, Nathaniel Mitzel, Ni­cholas Myer and Zachary Sch­midt.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.