CSM hon­ors em­ploy­ees at All-Cam­pus Con­vo­ca­tion

Maryland Independent - - Front Page -

The Col­lege of South­ern Mary­land rec­og­nized its em­ploy­ees for in­no­va­tion, lead­er­ship and ser­vice dur­ing the an­nual All-Cam­pus Con­vo­ca­tion on Sept. 30. The con­vo­ca­tion was de­signed to bring to­gether fac­ulty and staff to col­lab­o­rate and cel­e­brate one of the col­lege’s core val­ues, re­spect. Af­ter a wel­come ad­dress by CSM Pres­i­dent Brad Got­tfried, em­ploy­ees were hon­ored for their ac­com­plish­ments of the past year.

Hon­ored were:

Pres­i­dent’s Awards

Daphne Morris, Joel Kin­i­son, Keisha Pat­ter­son, Kristy Stevens, Wes­ley Robbs, Dave Marek, Barry Hamil­ton, Matthew Cox, Jill Wa­then and Gene Kirscht were hon­ored for pro­vid­ing out­stand­ing co­or­di­na­tion to mi­grate the col­lege from Black­board to Brightspace De­sire2Learn to help the col­lege bet­ter serve its stu­dents while sav­ing money. The team was nom­i­nated by Rob Farinelli.

Lean Ini­tia­tive

Lean Team lead­ers He­lene Cameron, Heather Ze­olla, Joyce Em­brey, Jill Wa­then, Kristy Stevens, Kim Yell­man, Larisa Pfeif­fer, Markia Sim­mons, Anne Buck­ler, Angela Thorn­ton, Deb­bie Jac­ques and Dou­glas Kuyk­endall; and Sched­ul­ing Kaizen Team mem­bers Doreen Bickel, He­lene Cam- eron, Dr. Jes­sica Cham­bers, Phyl­lis Coombs, Rob Farinelli, Marcy Gan­non, Tif­fany Gill, Brian Ham­mond, Lena Han­cock, Jen Houchin, Ronda Ja­cobs, Dr. Stephen John­son, Peggy Jones, Dr. Kelly McMur­ray, Daphne Morris, Me­lanie Oster­house, Amee Pa­tel, Shelby Potts, David Robin­son, Tom Russ, Shelly Snell and Patty Zych were hon­ored. These team mem­bers learned and em­braced Lean Prin­ci­ples to lead the charge for strate­gic con­tin­u­ous im­prove­ment of CSM’s in­ter­nal and ex­ter­nal pro­cesses. They were nom­i­nated by the Pres­i­dent’s Coun­cil.

In­no­va­tive Teach­ing Award

Erich Hintze, Rachel Hein­horst, Bar­bara John­son, Bar­bara Link, David Phalen and Joy Syring worked tire­lessly to give stu­dents greater suc­cess in credit-level English and in so do­ing have cre­ated a model for de­vel­op­men­tal ed­u­ca­tion through­out Mary­land. They were nom­i­nated by David Robin­son.

In­no­va­tor Awards

Hon­ored were Dr. Ly­dia Wil­liams, Chris Zim­mer­mann, Dr. Me­lanie Oster­house and Shelby Potts for suc­cess­fully launch­ing and man­ag­ing the Pres­i­den­tial Schol­ars Pro­gram de­signed to at­tract high-achiev­ing schol­ars at the Prince Fred­er­ick Cam­pus in fis­cal 2016. They were nom­i­nated by Dr. Rich Flem­ing.

Kathy McClure, Carol Har­ri­son, Gene Kirscht, Phil Hawkins and Dave Marek were hon­ored for im­ple­ment­ing Parch­ment soft­ware to send elec­tronic tran­scripts. CSM has moved to this pa­per­less plat­form which bet­ter serves its stu­dents and saves CSM money in re­sources and la­bor. They were nom­i­nated by Diane Ma­jor.

Lead­er­ship Award

Ellen Flow­ers-Fields in­her­ited the Small Busi­ness De­vel­op­ment Cen­ter with an an­nual struc­tural bud­get deficit of $40,000. Dur­ing the past two bud­get cy­cles, she met with lo­cal of­fi­cials and has turned the deficit sit­u­a­tion around with in­creased fund­ing in St. Mary’s and Charles coun­ties. She also has been very ac­tive in the grants area, land­ing an $800,000 multi-year grant from SHA to ex­pand the num­ber of mi­nor­ity firms in Mary­land who are cer­ti­fied to work on state projects, ex­pand­ing SBDC staffing and ser­vices pro­vided to SBDC pa­trons. She was nom­i­nated by Dr. Dan Mosser.

Ex­tra Mile Award

Court­nie Krauss was hon­ored for ad­min­is­ter­ing off­site place­ment testing at all Calvert County high schools and one in Charles County, in­volv­ing ap­prox­i­mately 500 stu­dents, as well an addi- tional math testing for some ju­niors. She was nom­i­nated by Linda Giles.

Judi Fer­rara, Joyce Em­brey, Kelly Winters and Karen Brandt as­sumed project man­age­ment and fis­cal re­spon­si­bil­i­ties for large grants, in ad­di­tion to their nor­mal full-time du­ties, which are ad­vanc­ing the col- lege’s im­pact in our re­gion. They were nom­i­nated by Dr. Dan Mosser.

Tracey Stuller led the Leonard­town Bi­o­log­i­cal and Phys­i­cal Sciences Di­vi­sion by en­cour­ag­ing fac­ulty and stu­dents to play an ac­tive role co­or­di­nat­ing the Leonard­town Cam­pus Save the Tree Project. She also worked with com­mu­nity lead­ers in­clud­ing the Patux­ent Tide­wa­ter Trust to en­sure that the trees were prop­erly han­dled by giv­ing an over­view of tree and vine man­age­ment while pro­vid­ing stu­dents with the knowl­edge of the prac­ti­cal ap­pli­ca­tion of their work. She was nom­i­nated by Dr. Tracy Har­ris.

Cus­tomer Ser­vice Award

Due to the large num­ber of nom­i­na­tions, no sin­gle win­ner was se­lected for this cat­e­gory. Con­grat­u­la­tions to those rec­og­nized by their co-work­ers: Build­ing and Grounds tech­ni­cians, Web Ser­vices team, Prince Fred­er­ick Cam­pus Stu­dent Ser­vices, Chris Richards, Sharon Buck­ler, Devonta Lawrence, Roseann Glass­man, Thirza Mor­gan, Judy Mills, Julie Sack­field, Karen Smith Hupp and Julie An­drews-Walker.

Col­lege/Com­mu­nity Ser­vice Award

Amee Pa­tel and Mar­cia Kent or­ga­nized two commu- nity ser­vice projects on the Prince Fred­er­ick Cam­pus. Their ef­forts in­cluded a dec­o­rated hol­i­day tree for Calvert Hospice fundrais­ing ef­forts as well more than 60 winter coats, scarves and gloves for Catholic Char­i­ties Coat of Many Colors coat drive. They were nom­i­nated by Sharon Wild­ing.

Jim Cleary, Don Posey, Nathan Welch and Ron To­ward worked to have two new dugouts built and a new fence in­stalled for the CSM softball team. Their ne­go­ti­a­tions with lo­cal ven­dors and the com­mu­nity re­sulted in get­ting ma­te­ri­als at a dis­count and in-kind la­bor sav­ing the col­lege 37 per­cent on the over­all es­ti­mated project costs. The im­prove­ments greatly en­hance the ap­pear­ance of the ath­letic fa­cil­i­ties and bet­ter serve CSM’s stu­dent-ath­letes. They were nom­i­nated by Tony Jerni­gan, Dr. Bill Comey and Michelle Ru­ble.

Kim Yell­man, Heather Ze­olla and An­nie Sut­ten led ef­forts to part­ner with the Charles County Chil­dren’s Aid So­ci­ety on the non­profit’s an­nual back­pack project for the past four years. They have or­ga­nized col­lege vol­un­teers to suc­cess­fully pack more than 6,000 back­packs so that young learn­ers can start the school year with the right sup­plies. This ser­vice project makes an im­pact in the com­mu­nity and on the cam­pus. They were nom­i­nated by Karen Smith Hupp.

Pro­fes­sional Goal At­tain­ment Award

Anne Buck­ler earned the So­ci­ety for Hu­man Re­sources Cer­ti­fied Pro­fes­sional Cer­ti­fi­ca­tion. David Cop­pins-Crump earned an As­so­ciate of Ap­plied Science in Man­age­ment De­vel­op­ment, a Cer­tifi­cate in Of­fice Tech­nol­ogy, and was rec­og­nized as an Out­stand­ing Stu­dent in the Man­age­ment De­vel­op­ment Depart­ment from CSM. Jen­nifer Ever­hart earned a Master of Busi­ness Ad­min­is­tra­tion from the Univer­sity of Mary­land, Univer­sity Col­lege. Jea­nine Davis earned a Phar­macy Tech­ni­cian Cer­tifi­cate from CSM.

Also at the con­vo­ca­tion, Pa­trick Allen, chair of CSM’s So­cial Sciences and Pub­lic Ser­vices Di­vi­sion, spoke on “Learn­ing the Value of Re­spect. Learn It. Live It. Pass It On.” The fac­ulty and staff then split into break­out ses­sions to talk about the re­spect theme — how they would de­fine it, how they demon­strate it and the ver­bal and non-ver­bal signs of re­spect.


Dr. Pa­trick Allen, chair of the Col­lege of South­ern Mary­land’s So­cial Sciences and Pub­lic Ser­vices Di­vi­sion, ad­dresses the fac­ulty and staff with a talk, “Learn­ing the Value of Re­spect. Learn It. Live It. Pass It On.” CSM held its an­nual All-Cam­pus Con­vo­ca­tion to cel­e­brate one of the col­lege’s core val­ues, re­spect.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.