Camp­bell plays its spring foot­ball game this Fri­day

MidWeek Islander (West Oahu) - - Front Page -

awards ban­quet.

“I wasn’t ex­pect­ing that,” he said.

Mean­while, the post-sea­son awards con­tinue to roll in for the out­go­ing coach and his play­ers, as the OIA an­nounced Nakamoto had been se­lected by his peers as the 2010 Red West’s Coach of the Year for 2010. Se­nior Ka­hana Neal also was named the league’s Co-Player of the Year, along with Camp­bell’s Charles Kaalakahi.

“I was very pleased with him,” the coach said of Neal. “He had a great sea­son al­laround. In ad­di­tion to pitch­ing well, his bat came around and he had only one er­ror in 18 games. ”

Neal was one of six Charg­ers to be se­lected to the First Team, join­ing Reid Ramos (sec­ond base), Chace Nu­mata (short­stop), Jor­dan Oshiro (out­field), Austin Bali (out­field) and Royce Mu­rai (util­ity).

Ramos and Bali are both new­com­ers to the list, hav­ing not been in the lineup as ju­niors.

“Reid im­proved the most and I’m happy for him,” Nakamoto said. “Austin had a tremen­dous sea­son and was (named) Of­fen­sive Player of the Year by us.”

The Charg­ers also placed Nu­mata (as a pitcher), Ed­win Izu­mi­gawa (pitcher) and Chevas Nu­mata (third base) on the Sec­ond Team, while Isaac Shim, Kawika Pruett, Tyler Toku­naga and Jonathan Kealoha earned Hon­or­able Men­tion.

Nu­mata, Oshiro and Mu­rai all fol­lowed up fine ju­nior sea­sons with re­peat per­for­manc- es this spring.

For Camp­bell High’s part, Charles Kaalakahi was among the most im­pres­sive pitch­ers in the state and got the at­ten­tion of Nakamoto and other Red West coaches.

“He’s a real good kid — very pos­i­tive and a gamer,” Nakamoto said of Kaalakahi, who led the Sabers and coach Rory Pico to an 11-7 sea­son and a run­ner-up fin­ish in the OIA play­offs.

Chad­wick Kaalekahi, younger brother of Charles, also made the First Team from Camp­bell, while catcher Michael Me­mea (out­fielder) was a Sec­ond Team se­lec­tion for the Sabers. Charles Kaalekahi also made the Sec­ond Team as a short­stop. Robert Ka­hana, Donato Gal­lano, Cole Nagamine, Avery Mar­quez and Kaeo Ka­pana re­ceived Hon­or­able Men­tion for Camp­bell.

Else­where in the West, Michael Filio made the First Team from Kapolei as an out­fielder, while Brock Asher (out­fielder) and Kainoa Ah Sing-Kaa­hanui (first base) were se­lected to the Sec­ond Team from Aiea. Na Ali’i also had seven play­ers — Chase Iwata, Travis Uyeda, Chase Aquino, Owen Fuel­las, Bryson Gabriel, Keanu Arke, Kevin Shi­bata — cho­sen for the Hon­or­able Men­tion team. Re­ceiv­ing Hon­or­able Men­tion from Kapolei were Cody Kamei, Bran­don Da­mas, Trent Hi­ramoto, Chris­tian Esta­billo, Boom Led­ward, Matt Moses, Lo­gan Snell, Mycah Kin­caid, Trey Ka­machi, Luke Kim and Josh Sim­mons.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.