‘Olelo Names Best Youth Videos In State

MidWeek Islander (West Oahu) - - Space -

‘Olelo Com­mu­nity Me­dia an­nounced the win­ners of its sev­enth an­nual ‘Olelo Youth Xchange Video Com­pe­ti­tion May 17 at an awards ban­quet held at the JW Mar­riott Ihi­lani Re­sort & Spa at Ko Olina.

Among the 31 win­ning videos were stu­dent cre­ations from Waipahu Ele­men­tary ( Fold, Cut, Burn; Pub­lic Ser­vice An­nounce­ment), Kapolei High ( Gim­meHI5; HI-5 Re­cy­cling) and Aiea High ( PeaceCon­quers All; Peace­maker). Win­ning mul­ti­ple nods was Moanalua High School, which took first place in the High School Cat­e­gory for Mini Doc­u­men­tary, Od­dBoy, Josh; and Traf­fic Safety en­try


Lo­cal news me­dia, film­mak­ing pro­fes­sion­als and sub­ject ex­perts served as judges and se­lected win­ners based on sub­ject im­pact and tech­ni­cal pro­duc­tion. Each win­ning school re­ceived a Sony video cam­era as well as a Sony con­sumer dig­i­tal video cam­era.

“The judges were uni­formly im­pressed by the in­sight, cre­ativ­ity and over­all qual­ity of the videos sub­mit­ted this year,” said Keali‘i Lopez,‘Olelo pres­i­dent/CEO. “Stu­dents are def­i­nitely re­fin­ing how they com­mu­ni­cate their mes­sages.”

All win­ning videos will air on FO­CUS chan­nel 49 at 6 p.m. to­day (May 26) and at 2 p.m. Fri­day. All 575 video en­tries also can be seen on­line at www.olelo.org/yxc.

Kapolei High School’s Amanda Hipolito (front, from left), Rogerio Espino, Blake Abes, (back) John Valera, Josh Kalani Saludez and Daryl Madela dis­play the awards won for their stu­dent-made video about HI-5 re­cy­cling in the 2010 ‘Olelo Youth Xchange Video Com­pe­ti­tion.

Also at the awards cer­e­mony: Aiea High School’s Shar­nelle Kamibayashi (seated, from left), Shantelle Kamibayashi, Maria Lopez-Han­ley, (stand­ing) Jesse James, Sa­man­tha Lums, Richard Mizu­gawa, Rich Proc­ter and Sally Mist. Pho­tos by Gary Dy­mally.

An awards ban­quet for all the top stu­dent-made videos in the state was held May 17 at the JW Mar­riott Ihi­lani Re­sort and Spa. Win­ning for their PSA were (front, from left) Ja­cel Lawi-an, Krystie Las­quero and An­ge­line Joven of Waipahu Ele­men­tary, who earned praise from (back) Michelle Ok­i­naka-Kwong, DJ Ka­maka and state Sen. Clarence Nishi­hara.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.