No. Haven,

New Haven Register (New Haven, CT) - - FRONT PAGE - By Clare Dig­nan mdig­nan@ hearst­medi­

NORTH HAVEN — Repub­li­can First Se­lect­man Michael J. Freda won his fifth con­sec­u­tive term in an over­whelm­ing vic­tory Tues­day.

Re­sults showed Freda se­cur­ing the seat with 4,616 votes to Demo­crat Alan Sturtz’s 1,094 votes. Freda was first elected in 2009.

“I’m very hum­bled to win by 85 per­cent,” Freda said. “I take this job very se­ri­ously. It demon­strates the public has put their trust in me and I won’t com­pro­mise that trust. I love the cit­i­zens of North Haven. No mat­ter how dif­fi­cult things get in mu­nic­i­pal gov­ern­ment, I pride my­self on watch­ing over the town. I’m fully en­er­gized and com­mit­ted.”

Repub­li­can Wil­liam Pieper out­paced Demo­crat Sally Buemi 3,654 to 1,761, so he will serve as sec­ond se­lect­man and Buemi will serve an­other term as third se­lect­man. Ti­mothy Do­heny did not run for re-elec­tion.

“It didn’t go the way the party had hoped,” Sturtz said. “I’m dis­ap­pointed but I con­grat­u­lated Mike on a great cam­paign. I thanked all the work­ers who vol­un­teered. I couldn’t have done this with­out them and I feel good about what I did. I look for­ward work­ing with the ad­min­is­tra­tion be­cause, as I said to Mike, we both still live in this town. We have a lot of young en­er­getic peo­ple and that makes me feel good.”

Sturtz has been reap­pointed to two-year po­si­tions on the Eco­nomic De­vel­op­ment Com­mis­sion and the Clean En­ergy Task Force.

Freda said his pri­or­i­ties have been keep­ing taxes low while main­tain­ing ser­vices and in­creas­ing eco­nomic de­vel­op­ment to keep grow­ing the grand list.

Repub­li­can swept all other races. J. Stacey Yar­brough won Town Clerk/ Tax Col­lec­tor and Lau­rieJean Han­non won Town Trea­surer. James Llanos and Dyann Vis­s­ic­chio won Board of Fi­nance. Ralph Ric­cia­rdelli won Board of Assess­ment Ap­peals. Vern Carl­son won Plan­ning and Zon­ing Com­mis­sion and E. Richard Wil­son won a seat to fill a va­cancy.

Lewis Bor­relli and Joseph Solimene won Plan­ning and Zon­ing Com­mis­sion al­ter­nate seats. Caren Gen­ovese and Robert Han­non won Zon­ing Board of Ap­peals seats, with Andrew Gorry and Caroly Yac­carnio as al­ter­nates.

David Monz and Lawrence Lazaroff won Po­lice Comis­sioner seats and Michael Zuc­carelli Jr. and Pasquale Nuz­zo­lillo won Fire Com­mis­sioner open­ings.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.