Bridge

New York Post - - THE POST PUZZLE PAGE -

school,play­era An re­ceiver“I in­ter­cep­tion­played­told back cov­eredme, quar­ter­backin an­other“and­was by tooI nev­ertwo life,” likely.in de­fend­ers.high threwa clubBut to I went deal.” wrong when I de­fended this My friend was East. South won the first heart with the ace, drew trumps and led dummy’s ten of di­a­monds. “I had the ten and nine twice cov­ered,” East said, “but I wasn’t sure what to do. I fi­nally played low, and so did de­clarer. My part­ner took the king and led an­other heart, and South won in dummy and led a se­cond di­a­mond. I took my ace, but South lost only a club and made game.” South threw into dou­ble coverage and scored a touch­down. East could in­ter­cept if he played the ace on the first di­a­mond. (The jack wouldn’t do.) If dummy led the nine later, East could cover that card also, and the de­fense would get three di­a­monds. A de­fen­sive “rule” is to cover the last of touch­ing hon­ors. But if you have two hon­ors, con­sider break­ing the rule.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.