Con­cer­tos old and new: Santa Fe Pro Mu­sica Orches­tra

Pasatiempo - - RANDOM ACTS -

Bach’s Con­certo for Two Vi­o­lins (BWV 1043) is a much-loved ev­er­green of the con­certo lit­er­a­ture. Sev­eral years ago, vi­o­lin­ist Jen­nifer Koh, re­gret­ting that so few con­cer­tos for two vi­o­lins had been pro­duced in the cen­turies since, com­mis­sioned two new dou­ble con­cer­tos that she could play with her one­time teacher Jaime Laredo. One of the re­sult­ing works, Anna Clyne’s Prince of Clouds, has been grad­u­ally en­ter­ing the reper­toire since its 2012 pre­miere. Clyne, a former com­poser-in-res­i­dence at the Chicago Sym­phony, cur­rently holds the anal­o­gous po­si­tion with the Orchestre Na­tional d’Iˆle de France and the Bal­ti­more Sym­phony. The Santa Fe Pro Mu­sica Orches­tra, con­ducted by Thomas O’Con­nor, presents Prince

of Clouds along with the Bach Dou­ble Con­certo, with Cármelo de los San­tos and Stephen Red­field as the soloists. Com­plet­ing the pro­gram are two clas­sics for string orches­tra, El­gar’s Ser­e­nade in E mi­nor (Op. 20) and Shostakovich’s Cham­ber Sym­phony for Strings (which is Ru­dolf Bar­shai’s up­scal­ing of Shostakovich’s String Quar­tet No. 10). Per­for­mances take place at 4 p.m. on Satur­day, Nov. 7, and at 3 p.m. on Sun­day, Nov. 8, at the Len­sic Per­form­ing Arts Cen­ter (211 W. San Fran­cisco St.). Tick­ets ($12-$69) are avail­able by call­ing 505-988-1234 or vis­it­ing www.tick­ — J.M.K.

Cármelo de los San­tos

Stephen Red­field

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.