Think­ing of Brit­ten: Santa Fe Sym­phony

Pasatiempo - - RANDOM ACTS -

Oriol Sans is the guest con­duc­tor when the Santa Fe Sym­phony per­forms Arvo Pärt’s Can­tus in Memo­riam

Ben­jamin Brit­ten, Stravin­sky’s Pul­cinella Suite, and Brahms’ Ser­e­nade No. 1. Brahms’ com­po­si­tions of­ten went through sev­eral ex­ploratory ver­sions be­fore he was con­tent that he had found the ideal re­sources for ex­press­ing his ideas. His Ser­e­nade No. 1, which he wrote when in his mid-twen­ties, pro­ceeded true to form, ap­par­ently be­gin­ning as a three­move­ment octet for winds and strings and then grow­ing into a four-move­ment nonet be­fore reach­ing its fi­nal, six-move­ment or­ches­tral form. The con­cert be­gins at 4 p.m. on Sun­day, March 20 (with a 3 p.m. lecture free to ticket hold­ers), at the Len­sic Per­form­ing Arts Cen­ter (211 W. San Fran­cisco St.). Tick­ets ($25-$80, with dis­counts avail­able) can be pur­chased through Tick­ets Santa Fe at the Len­sic (505-988-1234, www.tick­ Sans, a con­tender in the or­ches­tra’s search for a new prin­ci­pal con­duc­tor, has con­ducted the en­sem­ble in two pre­vi­ous sea­sons, and un­til re­cently he served as mu­si­cal di­rec­tor for the we­b­casts of the Detroit Sym­phony. — J.M.K.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.