Cleve­land Foun­da­tion

Poets and Writers - - Grants & Awards - ANISFIELD-WOLF BOOK AWARDS

Tye­himba Jess of New York City won the 82nd an­nual Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in po­etry for his col­lec­tion Olio (Wave Books). He re­ceived $10,000. Peter Ho Davies of Ann Ar­bor, Michi­gan, and Karan Ma­ha­jan of Austin, Texas, split the award in fic­tion; Davies won for his novel The For­tunes (Houghton Mif­flin Har­court), and Ma­ha­jan won for his novel The As­so­ci­a­tion of Small Bombs (Vik­ing). They each re­ceived $5,000. Mar­got Lee Shet­terly of Char­lottesville, Vir­ginia, won the award in non­fic­tion for her book Hid­den Fig­ures: The

Amer­i­can Dream and the Un­told Story of the Black Women Math­e­mati­cians Who Helped Win the Space Race (Wil­liam Mor­row). She re­ceived $10,000. Fic­tion and non­fic­tion writer Is­abel Al­lende of San Fran­cisco won the Life­time Achieve­ment Award. She re­ceived $10,000. Rita

Dove, Henry Louis Gates Jr., Joyce

Carol Oates, Steven Pinker, and Si­mon Schama judged. The an­nual awards are given to honor books of po­etry, fic­tion, and cre­ative non­fic­tion pub­lished in the pre­vi­ous year that “con­front racism and ex­am­ine di­ver­sity.” The next dead­line is De­cem­ber 31.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.