beach reads

NOTH­ING SAYS SUM­MER BLISS LIKE YOUR FEET IN THE SAND AND A GOOD BOOK IN YOUR HAND.

Rachael Ray Every Day - - On Our Radar -

FOR THE CHICK-LIT LOVER THE HUS­BAND HOUR, BY JAMIE BRENNER

Af­ter her soldier hus­band is killed in ac­tion, Lau­ren Adel­man re­treats to her fam­ily’s beach house— only to find her peace punc­tured when her over­bear­ing par­ents move in and a doc­u­men­tary film­maker en­ters the scene. Ex­pect plenty of fam­ily se­crets and warm-weather ro­mance.

FOR THE TV AD­DICT BACH­E­LOR NA­TION, BY AMY KAUF­MAN

If you know your Alex Michels from your Arie Jr.s, this is the book for you. In this look in­side the Bach­e­lor fran­chise, writer Amy Kauf­man crams in enough be­hind-thescenes bomb­shells to power an en­tire sea­son of re­al­ity TV. Trust us—it’s just as juicy as a fi­nal rose cer­e­mony.

FOR THE THRILL SEEKER TANGERINE, BY CHRIS­TINE MANGAN

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: This buzzy nail-biter, cen­tered on a friend­ship gone fa­tal in 1950s Morocco, will be your new fa­vorite thriller. Fit­tingly it’s set to hit the big screen in an adap­ta­tion co­pro­duced by Ge­orge Clooney and star­ring Scar­lett Jo­hans­son.

FOR THE SO­CIAL AC­TIVIST THE FE­MALE PER­SUA­SION, BY MEG WOLITZER

The lat­est from the au­thor of The In­ter­est­ings fol­lows col­lege fresh­man Greer Kadet­sky as she nav­i­gates ro­mance and am­bi­tion un­der the men­tor­ship of fem­i­nist icon Faith Frank. Gen­der pol­i­tics might seem heavy for a beach day, but Wolitzer’s writ­ing goes down as easy as a mo­jito.

FOR THE CUL­TURE VUL­TURE FEEL FREE, BY ZADIE SMITH

From the novelist be­hind Swing Time comes this en­ter­tain­ing es­say col­lec­tion that seam­lessly bridges high and low cul­ture. It’s di­vided into five sec­tions, in­clud­ing “In the Au­di­ence,” “In the Gallery,” and “On the Book­shelf,” mak­ing it easy to bounce from Brexit to Beyoncé in be­tween dips in the ocean.

— CI

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.