Be­hav­ioral health com­mu­nity hon­ored at awards

Record Observer - - News -

GRA­SONVILLE — Mid-Shore Men­tal Health Sys­tems Inc. held its 18th an­nual Cal­iber Awards lun­cheon on May 20 at Prospect Bay Coun­try Club in Gra­sonville. The event hon­ors the work of lo­cal or­ga­ni­za­tions and in­di­vid­u­als for their con­tri­bu­tions to the pub­lic be­hav­ioral health sys­tem in the Mid-Shore re­gion.

Holly R. Ire­land, ex­ec­u­tive di­rec­tor for MSMHS, and Roger L. Har­rell, pres­i­dent of the MSMHS Board of Di­rec­tors’ and health of­fi­cer for Dorch­ester County, be­gan the event with a wel­come mes­sage in­tro­duc­ing the event’s guest speaker, Dr. Bar­bara J. Bazron, ex­ec­u­tive di­rec­tor of the Be­hav­ioral Health Ad­min­is­tra­tion for the Depart­ment of Health and Men­tal Hy­giene. Bazron dis­cussed her vi­sion for the fu­ture of be­hav­ioral health in Mary­land and what the com­mu­nity can do to help bring it to fruition.

About 45 train­ers, providers, law en­force­ment of­fi­cers, com­mu­nity agen­cies and in­di­vid­u­als, and ex­it­ing board of di­rec­tors and Re­gional Be­hav­ioral Health Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee mem­bers, were hon­ored at the event.

Spe­cial Recog­ni­tion Awards were given to Mid-Shore Com­mu­nity Me­di­a­tion Cen­ter, Char­lie Roe with DRI-Dock Re­cov­ery and Well­ness Cen­ter, V. Inez Thomp­son with Kent County Be­hav­ioral Health, Lisa Hy­mas with For All Sea­sons, Chuck Adams with Mary­land Coali­tion of Fam­i­lies, Sandi Wis­cott with Haven Min­istries, Va­lerie Nwakudo and Stephen Hous­ton with the Roundtable on Home­less­ness, An­chor Point Inc. and Sgt. Jim Miller with the Eas­ton Po­lice Depart­ment.

Af­fil­i­ated Santé Group rec­og­nized sev­eral law en­force­ment of­fi­cers who re­cently com­pleted their Cri­sis In­ter­ven­tion Team cer­ti­fi­ca­tion and were pinned dur­ing the cer­e­mony: Jim Miller, Eas­ton Po­lice Depart­ment; Do­minick J. Rus­citti, Tal­bot County Sher­iff’s Of­fice; Jose E. Her­nan­dez, Cam­bridge Po­lice Depart­ment; John R. Lewis, Cam­bridge Po­lice Depart­ment; Louis E. Ni­chols III, Cam­bridge Po­lice Depart­ment; Justin R. Todd, Cam­bridge Po­lice Depart­ment; Alex P. Chinn, Eas­ton Po­lice Depart­ment; Michelle D. Schuer­holz, Eas­ton Po­lice Depart­ment; Ti­mothy P. Brewer Jr., Caro­line County De­ten­tion Cen­ter; and Cheyenne J. Chase, Tal­bot County Sher­iff’s Of­fice.

Sev­eral leg­isla­tive rep­re­sen­ta­tives were in at­ten­dance and pre­sented ci­ta­tions to each of the main award win­ners: Sen. Ad­die Eckardt, R-37-Mid Shore; Del. Johnny Mautz, R-37BTal­bot; Del. Chris Adams, R-37B-Wi­comico; Del. Steven Arentz, R-36-Queen Anne’s; Denise Love­lady, rep­re­sent­ing U.S. Rep. Andy Har­ris, R-Md.-1st; Kim­berly Kra­tovil, rep­re­sent­ing U.S. Sen. Ben­jamin Cardin, D-Md.; and re­tir­ing U.S. Sen. Bar­bara Mikul­ski, D-Md. Caro­line County Com­mis­sion­ers Pres­i­dent Wil­bur Le­ven­good, Tal­bot County Cir­cuit Court Judge Stephen H. Ke­hoe, Caro­line County Court Fam­ily Mag­is­trate Jo Ann As­para­gus and Queen Anne’s County Schools Su­per­in­ten­dent Carol Wil­liamson, were also in at­ten­dance.

The Achiev­ing Ex­cel­lence through Ef­fec­tive Pro­gram­ming award was given to Dou­glas Devenyns with the Tal­bot County Depart­ment of Cor­rec­tions for de­vel­op­ing an ar­ray of ser­vices made avail­able to the foren­sic pop­u­la­tion and for dis­play­ing lead­er­ship and fore­sight into the re­ha­bil­i­ta­tion of that pop­u­la­tion as pro­gram di­rec­tor.

Achiev­ing Ex­cel­lence through the Em­pow­er­ment of Con­sumers was awarded to Alisha Sauls­bury for her work with the Trauma, Ad­dic­tions, Men­tal Health and Re­cov­ery Pro­gram through For All Sea­sons Inc. Sauls­bury is a trauma ther­a­pist and na­tional trainer who has ded­i­cated her ca­reer to work­ing with women in the crim­i­nal jus­tice sys­tem who are de­tained in the Caro­line or Dorch­ester County de­ten­tion cen­ters.

Achiev­ing Ex­cel­lence through In­ter­a­gency and Com­mu­nity Col­lab­o­ra­tion was awarded to the Tal­bot County Depart­ment of So­cial Ser­vices for its Em­power Me Pro­gram; it was ac­cepted by Su­san Mer­riken and Katie Russ. The pro­gram, which fo­cuses on the pre­ven­tion of child abuse, has col­lab­o­rated with other agen­cies and com­mu­nity mem­bers to get ahead of the prob­lem and re-eval­u­ate “Good-Touch, Bad-Touch,” and “Stranger Danger,” in­stead teach­ing chil­dren to trust their gut and iden­tify five safe adults who they can tell when some­thing feels un­com­fort­able.

Two Life­time Achieve­ment awards were given out to — one to John Winslow, pre­vi­ous di­rec­tor of the Dorch­ester County Ad­dic­tions Pro­gram and DRI-Dock Re­cov­ery and Well­ness Cen­ter, and the other to Con­stance Pullen of Eastern Shore Psy­cho­log­i­cal Ser­vices, who has ded­i­cated more than 35 years to the Mid-Shore’s pub­lic be­hav­ioral health sys­tem.

The event brought out more than 100 lo­cal con­sumers, providers and com­mu­nity mem­bers. Next year’s event will be held in Dorch­ester County.


From left are Del. Chris Adams, Mid-Shore Men­tal Health Sys­tems’ Ex­ec­u­tive Di­rec­tor Holly Ire­land, Del. Steve Arentz, Sen. Ad­die Eckardt, MSMHS Board Pres­i­dent Roger Har­rell, Dr. Bar­bara J. Bazron and Del. Johnny Mautz.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.