Church Hill Theatre elects board mem­bers, an­nounces sea­son

Record Observer - - Arts & Entertainment -

CHURCH HILL — At its an­nual meet­ing on June 20, mem­bers of Church Hill Theatre dis­cussed re­sults of the cur­rent sea­son, elected a new board of di­rec­tors, rec­og­nized sig­nif­i­cant vol­un­teer con­tri­bu­tions and made plans for the 2018 sea­son.

CHT Ex­ec­u­tive Man­ager Nina Sharp pre­sented a re­port on the past year’s suc­cesses and an­nounced the theatre’s “Throw Us a Bone” fundrais­ing cam­paign, the goal of which is to raise money to sup­port the theatre’s ex­te­rior Stucco Restora­tio project. The $19,000 re­pair work will be par­tially funded by Preser­va­tion Mary­land’s Her­itage Fund.

Chair­man Charles “Pat” Pat­ter­son and vol­un­teer co­or­di­na­tor Rachel Goss thanked re­tir­ing mem­bers She­lagh Grasso, Juanita Wiec­zoreck, John Beck, and Howard Mesick (in ab­sen­tia) for their years of ded­i­cated ser­vice as board mem­bers. Goss also pre­sented the Vol­un­teer of the Year Award to the Christopher fam­ily for their out­stand­ing ded­i­ca­tion to all vol­un­teer as­pects of CHT such as work­ing back­stage, Front of House, spe­cial events, and much more.

Newly elected mem­bers Thad Bench, Robert Bryan, Jen­nifer Moore, Ken­dall Davis and Julie Bedell will join the cur­rently ex­ist­ing CHT Board of Di­rec­tors: David Bow­er­ing, Pa­trick Fee, Michelle Christopher, Laura Van Wie Mc­Grory, Rachel Goss, Sylvia Maloney, Charles “Pat” Pat­ter­son, Christopher Wal­lace, Becca Van Aken and Michael White­hill.

At an or­ga­ni­za­tional meet­ing fol­low­ing the elec­tion, the Board de­ter­mined of­fi­cers would re­main the same: Pat­ter­son will con­tinue as CHT board chair­man, David Bow­er­ing as vice chair­man, Sylvia Maloney as trea­surer and Becca Van Aken as sec­re­tary.

Dur­ing the meet­ing, Pro­gram Com­mit­tee Chair­man John Haas shared the list of pro­jected plays for CHT’s 2018 sea­son. The com­mit­tee has pro­posed a mix of plays and styles for next year, in­clud­ing Neil Si­mon’s un­for­get­table comedy “Biloxi Blues”; Earnest Thomp­son’s heart­felt “On Golden Pond”; the col­or­ful mu­si­cal “Pip­pin” with book by Roger O. Hir­son and mu­sic and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz; Wendy Wasser­stein’s comedy/drama “The Sis­ters Rosensweig”; and Bren­den Be­han’s black comedy “The Hostage.” In ad­di­tion, Church Hill Theatre will pro­duce its an­nual Green Room Gang sum­mer mu­si­cals per­formed by GRG Ju­niors and Se­niors, and the Ed­u­ca­tion com­mit­tee hopes to add a youth win­ter hol­i­day pro­duc­tion.

Com­ing up at Church Hill Theatre are the Green Room Gang final per­for­mances of Roald Dahl’s “Willy Wonka KIDS” and “Seussi­cal JR.,” which will play July 20 through 23, Thursday and Fri­day at 7 p.m. and Satur­day and Sun­day at 2 p.m.

Lo­cal play­wright Earl Lewin’s pro­duc­tion of his new­est play “Or­lando Ris­ing” will open one week later, and will run two week­ends: July 28 through Aug. 6, Fri­days and Satur­days at 8 p.m. and Sun­days at 2 p.m.

In Septem­ber, Di­rec­tor Michael White­hill will bring John Pa­trick Shan­ley’s award-win­ning “Doubt, a Para­ble” to the CHT stage, which will play Sept. 8-24.

The CHT 2017 sea­son will close with a col­lab­o­ra­tive pro­duc­tion of “Car­rie the Mu­si­cal,” based on the novel by Stephen King. This mu­si­cal, di­rected by Ch­e­sa­peake Col­lege’s Robert Thomp­son, will run Oct. 27-Nov. 12. The first week­end of per­for­mances will run at the Cadby Theatre at Ch­e­sa­peake Col­lege, and then travel to the Church Hill Stage for the final two week­ends.

For more in­for­ma­tion on the Church Hill Theatre, visit the web­site at www. church­hillthe­, fol­low CHT on Face­book, or call the CHT Of­fice at 410556-6003.

Church Hill Theatre’s re­tir­ing and cur­rent board mem­bers, from left, stand­ing, Christopher Wal­lace, Sylvia Maloney, Robert Bryan, Michael White­hill, Pa­trick Fee, Charles “Pat” Pat­ter­son, Thad Bench, Juanita Wiec­zoreck, John Haas, David Bow­er­ing and Rachel Goss; seated, Becca Van Aken, She­lagh Grasso, Ken­dall Davis, Michelle Christopher and Julie Bedell.

Church Hill Theatre’s Ex­ec­u­tive Man­ager Nina Sharp, left, con­grat­u­lates the re­tir­ing board mem­bers and thanks them for their “thyme.” Re­tir­ing board mem­bers, from left, Juanita Wiec­zoreck, She­lagh Grasso, and John Haas. Not pic­tured: Howard Mesick.

Vol­un­teers of the Year: Rachel Goss, cen­ter, presents Michelle Emer­son Christopher, left, Ron “Speedy” Christopher, right, and their two sons “Lit­tle Speedy” (top) and Connor (bot­tom) with the Vol­un­teers of the Year award for their end­less con­tri­bu­tions to Church Hill Theatre.

An­tique type­writ­ers and of­fice equip­ment ex­hib­ited in the mu­seum, shown here, fre­quently at­tract in­ter­est among mu­seum vis­i­tors — es­pe­cially chil­dren.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.