Swim coach Amyee Har­gett in­ducted into Nebo Hall of Fame

Serve Daily - - BUILDING COMMUNITY - By Lana Hiskey

Amyee Har­gett, swim coach at Springville High School from 2007 to 2016, was in­ducted into Nebo Hall of Fame in Jan­uary.

Amyee Har­gett swam for the SHS swim team in the 1980s. Fol­low­ing her swim­ming ca­reer in high school, she swam for Brigham Young Univer­sity. In 2007, Amyee re­turned to SHS as head coach for both the boys’ and girls’ swim teams. She con­tin­ues to coach the most suc­cess­ful swim teams in Springville High’s school his­tory.

Dur­ing Coach Har­gett’s nine years, the boys’ team won seven con­sec­u­tive re­gion ti­tles (2007-2013) with back-to-back state cham­pi­onships in 2008 and 2009. She con­tin­ued with six more top-four fin­ishes Four Nebo School Dis­trict Board of in the state in­clud­ing a third-time run­ner Ed­u­ca­tion mem­bers were sworn into of­fice up, two other third-place fin­ishes and oneby Tracy Olsen, Nebo School Dis­trict’s fourth-place fin­ish. The boys’ team also busi­ness ad­min­is­tra­tor, on Jan. 11. won six re­lays at state. There were many Three are re­turn­ing board mem­bers and suc­cess­ful in­di­vid­ual swim­mers dur­ing one is start­ing her first term of of­fice on this time at SHS, with swim­mers win­ning the board. 11 in­di­vid­ual state ti­tles and back-to-back Dean Row­ley ran un­op­posed in the Swim­mer of the Meet awards in 2014 and The girls fin­ished in the top four at state Springville and Span­ish Fork ar­eas. He 2015. Three swim­mers con­tin­ued swim­ming in 2010 and 2015. They won their first will serve for a fourth four-year term as af­ter high school grad­u­a­tion at the Re­gion Championship in over a decade in board mem­ber. col­le­giate level. Coach Har­gett’s suc­cess 2010. Through all this suc­cess, the girls’ Randy Boothe won his seat in the Span­ish was rec­og­nized by the other coaches in team broke many records. In to­tal, 16 of Fork, Ben­jamin and Lake Shore ar­eas. the state as she was voted Boys’ Coach of the 22 school records were bro­ken un­der He will serve on the board for a fourth the Year in 2008, 2010, and 2013. Coach Har­gett. Some records were bro­ken four-year term.

Dur­ing Coach Har­gett’s ca­reer, the mul­ti­ple times. Over­all, Coach Har­gett’s Chris­tine Ri­ley ran un­op­posed in the girls’ team had a suc­cess­ful run of its own. SHS teams have earned 101 state medals. Payson and Spring Lake ar­eas. She will Nebo School Dis­trict Board of Ed­u­ca­tion by

Randy Boothe, Dean Row­ley, Lisa Row­ley and Chris­tine Ri­ley were sworn in as mem­bers of the Tracy Olsen, the dis­trict’s busi­ness ad­min­is­tra­tor.

Amyee Har­gett

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.