In­dian Creek wrestling wins New Rock League ti­tle

Pan­thers en­joy best sea­son since wrestling pro­gram be­gan in 1998

The Covington News - - Sports -

The In­dian Creek wrestling squad tal­lied 143 points last week­end to win the 2007-08 New Rock League In­di­vid­ual Cham­pi­onship.

Gen­eral Ray Davis fin­ished sec­ond with 122 points.

Round­ing out the top five were Cousins (third) with 119 points, fol­lowed by Cony­ers and Ed­wards, each tied for fourth place with 117 points over­all.

Over­all, In­dian Creek fin­ished 27-1, giv­ing the Pan­thers their best record since the wrestling pro­gram be­gan in 1998.

Led by coaches Neil Badertscher and An­thony Wim­pey, the Pan­thers ended their re­mark­able sea­son un­de­feated in league play with a 10-0 record.

For In­dian Creek, the in­di­vid­ual cham­pi­ons in­cluded Tyler Bai­ley (80 pounds, two pins), Austin McCul­lough (85, two pins and one win), Kyle Bar­ronton (119, one pin and two tech­ni­cals), Sage Allen (125, one pin and one tech), Kam­ron Scaggs (130, one pin one win) and Alex Davis (140, two pins).

League run­ner-up Pan­ther wrestlers in­cluded Daniel Whit­low (135, one win) and Jar­rod Rick­man (145, one pin).

In­dian Creek’s Grady Bryant (160) wres­tled his way to a third place fin­ish with one pin.

Fin­ish­ing the day at fourth for the Pan­thers were Eric Barnes (95, one win and one tech), Wesley Cham­bers (103, one win), Justin Cochran (112, two wins), Will Daniel (152, one pin) and Mark Smith (171, one pin).

Last year, In­dian Creek fin­ished 25-6.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.