Bridge

The Denver Post - - FEATURES - By Frank Ste­wart

I do cross­word puz­zles. I fig­ure as long as I can fin­ish the New York Times Sun­day puz­zle in ink, I’m not on the brink of se­nil­ity.

A re­cent clue was “What fas­tid­i­ous peo­ple can’t be.”

In to­day’s deal, de­clarer’s play was fast but hardly fas­tid­i­ous. He fi­nessed with dummy’s queen on the first spade, and East won and led the eight of di­a­monds. South played low, and West won and ex­ited with a spade.

De­clarer then cashed the ace of trumps — and West showed out. South took the king of trumps, led a club to dummy and tried an­other di­a­mond fi­nesse, but West won, and East’s trump trick de­feated the con­tract.

Fas­tid­i­ous peo­ple can’t be too care­ful, and nei­ther can good de­clar­ers. South should take the ace of spades at Trick One and cash the A-K of trumps. He next takes the A-K of clubs, ruffs dummy’s last club and ex­its with a spade.

East can win and lead a di­a­mond, but when West wins, he is end-played. He must re­turn a di­a­mond or con­cede a fa­tal ruff-sluff.

Daily Ques­tion: You hold: & J9532 h None ( KQ7 $ 10 7 6 5 2. Nei­ther side vul­ner­a­ble. Your part­ner opens one spade, the next player dou­bles, you bid four spades and left-hand op­po­nent tries five hearts. Two passes fol­low. What do you say? An­swer: To go to five spades might be right. Your part­ner might even make it if he has a suit­able hand. But once you have pre­empted and the op­po­nents have bid on, it is of­ten best to hope they have mis­judged. I would pass.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.