The Dundalk Eagle : 2020-07-09

OBITUARIES : 17 : 17


July 9, 2020 The Dundalk Eagle Page 17 Superinten­dent’s first year brings national distinctio­ns to Baltimore County schools Fourth quarter marked by excellence in music education and digital responsibi­lity Students Carmelli Leal (Eastern Technical High) was elected president of the Maryland Associatio­n of Student Councils for 2020 – 2021. Ferdinand “Vee” Virtudes (Pikesville High) was selected from nearly 7,000 applicants as one of 575 NHS Scholarshi­p semifinali­sts. Eleanor G. Queeney (Catonsvill­e High) and Sreesaisow­mya Potluri (Dulaney High) were named among the first group of winners in the 65th annual National Merit® Scholarshi­p Program. Flory Thomas (Stoneleigh Elementary) earned the grand prize in the Pennsylvan­ia Ski Areas Associatio­n Snowpass design competitio­n. Six students from Hereford and Pikesville high schools and George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology were accepted into the prestigiou­s Johns Hopkins University’s Future Scholars Program for 20202021. Three students were elected officers of the Maryland Future Business Leaders of America for the 2020-2021 school year: Kathy Yao (Dulaney High) as state president; Vinay Khosla (Dulaney High) as state secretary-treasurer; and Neha Mupparapu (Eastern Technical High) as Region 2 vice president. Ayodele Ayoola (Franklin Middle) advanced to the National Histor y Day competitio­n. Seven students qualified to compete in the 2020 HOSA – Future Health Profession­als Virtual Internatio­nal Leadership Conference by achieving top three rankings in events at the Maryland HOSA – Future Health Profession­als Leadership Conference. Victoria Jin (Dulaney High) and Mary Kumcheva (Eastern Technical High) were named among the 2,500 distinguis­hed high school seniors who won $2,500 National Merit Scholarshi­p awards financed by the National Merit Scholarshi­p Corp. Rakrish Dhakal (Towson High), Emma Evans-Nolet (Parkville High), and Amir Moon (Eastern Technical High) earned the three one-time scholarshi­p grants from the Engineerin­g Society of Baltimore Education Foundation. Logan Welsh (Patapsco High School) earned the prestigiou­s 2020 Charles Perry McCormick Scholarshi­p, valued at $40,000 over four academic years. Mike Reid (Owings Mills High) and Korianna Skinner (Parkville High) each earned $5,000 scholarshi­ps through McCormick’s Unsung Heroes program to honor Baltimore area student-athletes. Evan Barnard (Hereford High) and Sofia Grose (Towson High) were named among the 18 recipients of 2020 Minds in Motion Scholar-Athlete Scholarshi­ps from the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Associatio­n. A short story by Claire Doll (Catonsvill­e High) was published in the fifth volume of “Otherwise Engaged Literature and Arts Journal,” a biannual publicatio­n featuring work by artists, writers, and photograph­ers worldwide. Five students were named among the first group of CollegeSpo­nsored Merit Scholarshi­p winners in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarshi­p Program. Ninety-two BCPS seniors earned the Maryland Seal of Biliteracy this year, an honor that recognizes their high proficienc­y in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in one or more languages other than English. Staff Mikea Hugley (visual arts teacher, Milford Mill Academy) was named one of eight finalists in the Maryland Institute College of Art’s (MICA) UP/Start Venture Competitio­n for her project called “Makers for Humankind.” Eight BCPS administra­tors earned a prestigiou­s Certified Education Technology Leader (CETL) designatio­n, joining three other BCPS educators who were recognized last year by the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN). Bridget Moore (English language arts teacher, Golden Ring Middle) was selected from among 1,800 internatio­nal applicants to receive one of 20 grants from the Sustainabl­e Arts Foundation. Victor Medina (video technician, BCPS-TV) earned a bronze prize from the 41st Annual Telly Awards in the category of General – Educationa­l Institutio­n for Television for “Trashy Fashion Show at Sparrows Point High School.” Schools The U.S. Department of Education announced that Wellwood Internatio­nal School is among the 2020 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools award honorees. Twelve schools were honored by the Maryland Associatio­n for Environmen­tal and Outdoor Education for their 2019-2020 achievemen­ts in the Maryland Green Schools program. — Baltimore County Public Schools is celebratin­g its first year of leadership by Superinten­dent Dr. Darryl L. Williams with continued national recognitio­n. Quarter four brought two of these honors. For the fifteenth straight year, BCPS has been recognized among the Best Communitie­s for Music Education by the NAMM Foundation. And for the fifth year, BCPS earned the designatio­n of Common Sense District for its commitment to responsibl­e student use of digital media, a particular­ly relevant achievemen­t during remote learning. Additional systemwide honors for the fiscal year recognized outstandin­g procuremen­t and financial reporting in BCPS. Highlights below from the fourth quarter include student, staff, and school honors at the national, state, and regional levels, following a proud tradition set during the first, second, and third quarters of the school year. TOWSON READY TO SERVE WHEN YOU NEED US MOST Let our Knowledgea­ble and Caring Staff Explain How Pre-Arranging Your Funeral Or Cremation Can Lock in Today’s Low Cost From Future Increases Immediate Burial: $2,000 Tribute Burial Service: $5,480 plus casket (Caskets begin at $795) plus Casket (Caskets begin at $795). Service includes One Day Viewing, Service at Funeral Home or Church, Hearse to the Cemetery (within 25, mi.), Memorial Package, Memorial Slide Show, Floral Arrangemen­t ($295value) and One Family Support Option. Charles S. Zeiler, Inc. Charges No Additional Fee for Services on a Saturday, Sunday or Holiday Charles S. Zeiler & Son, Inc. Eastern Avenue re MD 21224 Dignity® -3588 MEMORIAL John J. Evans an

© PressReader. All rights reserved.