A year from to­day, it all will have been de­cided

The Enterprise - - Community Forum -

It’s time to say the “E” word again. One year from to­day — bar­ring any re­counts or protested elec­tion re­sults — it will all have been de­cided. Let’s take a look at the po­lit­i­cal crys­tal ball and see where we’ll be that first Wed­nes­day in Novem­ber 2018.

At the fed­eral level, ei­ther Mary­land’s se­nior se­na­tor, Demo­crat Ben Cardin, will have se­cured a third term, or some­one new will be rep­re­sent­ing us in Wash­ing­ton. And in the House, ei­ther Rep. Steny Hoyer (DMd., 5th) will have won a 19th full term in Con­gress (with or without car­ry­ing St. Mary’s), or a challenger will have knocked him out of of­fice.

At the state level, ei­ther Larry Ho­gan will have be­come the first Repub­li­can gov­er­nor re-elected in Mary­land since Theodore McKeldin in 1954, or one of the many Democrats who lined up to top­ple him will have done so.

Sen. Steve Waugh (R-St. Mary’s, Calvert), who four years ago ousted the long­time in­cum­bent Demo­crat, Roy Dyson, will ei­ther have won re-elec­tion or been sim­i­larly turned out by an asyet-un­known challenger. Waugh has not yet filed, but is fully ex­pected to do so.

Also in An­napo­lis, all three state del­e­gate seats rep­re­sent­ing St. Mary’s will have been de­cided. And at this writ­ing, while all three of the Repub­li­can in­cum­bents are ex­pected to de­fend their seats, nei­ther Del. Matt Mor­gan (29A), Del. Deb Rey (29B) nor Ger­ald “Jerry” Clark (29C, which also en­com­passes south­ern Calvert) had of­fi­cially filed. Demo­crat Brian Crosby of Great Mills has en­tered the race to com­pete for Rey’s south­ern St. Mary’s spot, while Ju­lia Ni­chols of Leonard­town is vy­ing for Clark’s post.

It’s guar­an­teed that a year from now there will be at least one new county com­mis­sioner. Tom Jar­boe (R) has al­ready an­nounced he will not de­fend his District 1 seat, but Repub­li­cans Eric Colvin and Mike Daras have filed, as has Demo­crat Ti­mothy Ridgell, al­ready as­sur­ing a gen­eral elec­tion con­test for that com­mis­sioner post.

Com­mis­sion Pres­i­dent Randy Guy (R) has not filed yet, but there’s al­ready com­pe­ti­tion for his spot, since Demo­crat Howard Thomp­son has filed. And Com­mis­sioner Mike He­witt (R) — who has not yet filed to try for a sec­ond term — has at least one con­tender for his District 2 seat in An­n­Marie Abell of Leonard­town, a Demo­crat.

A year from now, Com­mis­sioner John O’Con­nor (R) will ei­ther have won a sec­ond term, or been re­placed by a now-un­known challenger in District 3. And no one had filed as of yes­ter­day for the District 4 seat oc­cu­pied by Com­mis­sioner Todd Mor­gan (R) — in­clud­ing the in­cum­bent.

Sher­iff Tim Cameron (R) will ei­ther have se­cured a rare fourth term lead­ing the county’s law en­force­ment, or will have been top­pled by pri­mary op­po­nent Tom Phe­lan or Demo­crat Ted Bel­leav­oine. The in­cum­bent, who had never faced any op­po­si­tion since win­ning his first term in 2006, has not yet filed, but is ex­pected to do so.

Richard Fritz (R) will ei­ther have won his sixth and, ac­cord­ing to him, fi­nal term as state’s at­tor­ney, or a yet-un­known challenger will pre­vail. As of now he has no op­po­si­tion.

Also, the two school board po­si­tions in play this time around — now held by Rita Weaver in District 1 and Karin Bai­ley in District 3 — will have been de­cided. Nei­ther in­cum­bent has filed for re-elec­tion thus far, nor have any chal­lengers.

Ob­vi­ously, a lot will change be­tween now and the June 26 pri­mary. Many will wait un­til af­ter the turn of the year to file for of­fice, but the bal­lots will fill. And as the cam­paigns wage and the win­ners emerge, you can count on The En­ter­prise to re­port on all of it, ev­ery step of the way.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.