Von Dohren, Schutz, Hirth­ler claim points cham­pi­onships at Grand­view

The Hamburg Area Item - - Sports - By Ernie Sax­ton For Dig­i­tal First Me­dia

BECH­TELSVILLE » With rained out races and a full nor­mal slate of fea­tures in Satur­day night’s reg­u­lar sea­son fi­nale at Grand­view Speed­way, there was no short­age of win­ners.

The night’s big­gest win­ners were the newly crowned 2017 Grand­view point cham­pi­ons.

Mod­i­fied chauf­feur Craig Von Dohren only won two fea­tures in the chase, but he still man­aged to record his 10th cham­pi­onship.

Chuck Schutz, a four- time Late Model fea­ture win­ner, gar­nered his ninth point ti­tle.

Open­ing night Sports­man fea­ture win­ner Brian Hirth­ler went on to claim his first cham­pi­onship.

On the track, the races spon­sored by WNPV 1440 AM Ra­dio, Lans­dale, cer­tainly had its share of va­ri­eties in all di­vi­sions.

Both Skip and Walt Smith paced the fea­ture fields for all di­vi­sions in the Blast From The Past Red No. 2 driven by Dave Smith who lost his life in a freak high­way in­ci­dent while work­ing for the town­ship. Dave was the fa­ther of sports­man driver Der­rick Smith.

In the rained out T. P. Trail­ers 358 NASCAR Mod­i­fied 30- lap fea­ture from Au­gust 19, it was Clay But­ler, who be­came a track reg­u­lar mid- sea­son, cross­ing the line first to regis­ter his first ca­reer win at the oval to be­come the 13th dif­fer­ent win­ner. How­ever due to an of­fi­cial er­ror with the cau­tion light, Brett Kress­ley, who had taken the lead on the 29th lap, also shared the win.

Mike Gu­lar had slowed down and as quick as the yel­low went on it was turned off. By that time Kress­ley had backed off the throt­tle and But­ler along with Jared Um­ben­hauer shot past him, but the yel­low was never of­fi­cially thrown. Man­age­ment felt it was only fair to credit both But­ler and Kress­ley with the wins.

Mike Ma­haney, who trav­els from New York to pi­lot the Rod Bre­it­en­stein- owned No. 14 on oc­ca­sion, had a rather dis­mal start to the sea­son when he com­peted, but once the team dis­cov­ered it was an elec­tri­cal prob­lem, they were in the hunt. Ma­haney went from

fourth to first by the sec­ond lap and de­spite yel­low flags that fell when he needed them to re­group the pack when he en­coun­tered heavy lap traf­fic, he still pulled into vic­tory lane to be the 14th dif­fer­ent win­ner and chalk up his first ca­reer tri­umph at the track.

In the BRC 20- lap NASCAR Late Model fea­ture, Lou Egrie Sr. in­her­ited the lead when Wayne Pfeil dropped out with me­chan­i­cal prob­lems and went on to cap­ture his first win of the year to be­come the sev- enth dif­fer­ent win­ner. The last time the two- time point cham­pion had won was April 2015.

Mark Kem­merer added his name to the win list in the 25- lap NASCAR Sports­man fea­ture for his first win of the year to be­come the divi­sion’s 12th dif­fer­ent win­ner. He ded­i­cated the win to fel­low driver Der­rick Smith’s fa­ther Dave.

All fea­ture win­ners re­ceived mon­e­tary awards from T. P. Trail­ers and VP Rac­ing Fu­els pro­vid­ing they met the re­quire­ments along with the Dan’s Deli ½ - way hoagie awards.

The 47th An­nual Free­dom 76 Mod­i­fied Clas­sic in Honor of Bruce Rogers is set for Satur­day, Septem­ber 16th. The will pay $ 30,000 to the win­ner and is ex­pected to at­tract many of the top names in dirt track Mod­i­fied stock car rac­ing. Ac­tion will get un­der­way at 7 p. m.

The night be­fore the MidAt­lantic Sprint Se­ries will be in ac­tion along with the Sports­man rac­ing in the Free­dom 38’ er of­fer­ing $ 1,500 to the win­ner. Mod­i­fieds en­tered in the Free­dom 76 will be al­lowed to par­tic­i­pate in prac­tice ses­sions. Adult ad­mis­sion is $ 12, young­sters 6 thru 11 pay just $ 5 and un­der 6 are ad­mit­ted free. Ad­vance tick­ets, $ 35 for adults, for the Free­dom 76 will be avail­able Fri­day night.

The Free­dom 76 has a Septem­ber 23rd rain date while the Fri­day night events have no rain date. RACE RE­SULTS WNPV 1440 Ra­dio T. P. Trail­ers NASCAR Mod­i­fied Fea­ture ( Au­gust 19) ( 30- Laps): 1. Clay But­ler and Brett Kress­ley, 3. Jared Um­ben­hauer, 4. Frank Cozze, 5. Steve Swine­hart, 6. Kevin Hirth­ler, 7. Duane Howard, 8. Jeff Strunk, 9. Doug Man­miller, 10. Joe Fanelli, 11. Brian Krum­mel, 12. Craig Von Dohren, 13. Ryan Grim, 14. Ray Swine­hart, DNF: 15. Mike Gu­lar, 16. John Will­man, 17. Dan Waisem­pacher, 18. Kory Flem­ing, 19. Bobby Gun­ther- Walsh, 20. Mark Kratz, 21. Ron Selt­mann Jr., 22. Kenny Gil­more, 23. Mike Laise, 24. Mike Ma­haney, 25. Tim Buck­wal­ter, 26. Colt Har­ris, 27. Justin Grim, 28. Eric Biehn and 29. Ad­di­son Meit­zler. WNPV 1440 Ra­dio T. P. Trail­ers NASCAR Mod­i­fied Fea­ture ( 30- Laps): 1. Mike Ma­haney, 2. Ryan Watt, 3. Craig Von Dohren, 4. Duane Howard, 5. Jared Um­ben­hauer, 6. Tim Buck­wal­ter, 7. Tim Hind­ley, 8. Brett Kress­ley, 9. Ryan Grim, 10. Eric Biehn, 11. Bob Trap­per Jr., 12. Brett Gil­more, 13. Chris Es­pos­ito, 14. Joe Fanelli, DNF: 15. Jeff Strunk, 16. Mike Gu­lar, 17. Danny Erb, 18. Ad­di­son Meit­zler, 19. Frank Cozze, 20. Kenny Gil­more, 21. John Will­man, 22. Ron Selt­mann Jr., 23. Clay But­ler, 24. Mark Kratz, 25. Doug Man­miller ( pro­vi­sional — drove Kory Flem­ing’s car), 26. Ray Swine­hart, 27. Steve Swine­hart, 28. Brian Krum­mel, 29. Kevin Hirth­ler. DNQ: Briggs Dan­ner, Justin Grim, Bobby Gun­therWalsh, Kory Flem­ing, Dan Waisem­pacher. WNPV 1440 Ra­dio BRC NASCAR Late Model Fea­ture ( 20- Laps): 1. Lou Egrie Sr., 2. Bryon Sipe, 3. Drew Weisser, 4. Kyle Merkel, 5. Steve Todorow, 6. Jor­dan Knepp, 7. Dal­las Brei­den­bach, 8. Scott McMichael, 9. Andy Cas­sel, 10. Pa­trick Robin­son, DNF: 11. Ge­orge Ir­win, 12. Steve Wil­son, 13. Wayne Pfeil, 14. Chuck Schutz, 15. Dirk Rim­rott. WNPV 1440 Ra­dio NASCAR Sports­man Fea­ture ( 25 Laps: 1. Mark Kem­merer, 2. Kyle Lil­ick, 3. Louden Reimert, 4. Brad Arnold, 5. Mike Lisowski, 6. Lex Shive, 7. Craig Whit­moyer, 8. Brad Grim, 9. Jor­dan Henn, 10. Brian Hirth­ler, 11. Brad Bright­bill, 12. Kurt Bet­tler, 13. Ryan Beltz, 14. Joe Funk III, 15. Dy­lan Swine­hart, 6. Der­rick Smith, 17. Jesse Lan­dis, 18. B. J. Joly ( al­ter­nate), 19. An­drew Kreis, 20. Ryan Shupp, DNF: 21. Shawn Light, 22. Jim Hous­worth, 23. Ryan Higgs, 24. Ryan Lil­ick. DNQ: Nathan Mohr, Andy Clem­mer, Bran­don Whit­moyer, Kenny Bock, Tyler Re­ber, Rich Jones. DNS: Jack But­ler.


Craig Von Dohren won his 10th Mod­i­fied points cham­pi­onship at Grand­view Speed­way on Sept. 9.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.