Kreut­ter, Bon­signore win big races at Al­len­town in­door week­end

The Hamburg Area Item - - Sports - By Steve Bar­rick

AL­LEN­TOWN » Scott Kreut­ter of Buf­falo, N. Y ., won his first ca­reer In­door Auto Rac­ing Se­ries Fu­eled By VP Rac­ing Three Quar­ter ( TQ) Midget fea­ture Satur­day night in­side Al­len­town’s PPL Cen­ter Arena in front of a good crowd.

The ver­sa­tile driver, who does most of his out­door rac­ing on dirt in Cen­tral New York be­hind the wheel of a 360 Sprint Car, took the lead from his out­side front row start­ing spot on the ini­tial start of the 40- lap main event, then held off a va­ri­ety of chal­lengers in­clud­ing Fri­day night win­ner Justin Bon­signore, past Se­ries cham­pi­ons Erick Ru­dolph and Ryan Flores and Ryan Preece. Ru­dolph passed Bon­signore for se­cond with two laps to go in the race. Bon­signore held for third ahead of Matt Roselli, and Jon Reid.

Preece, Andy Jankowiak, Bobby Holmes, Bran­don Az­za­lina, and Joey Payne com­pleted the top ten.

Kreut­ter’s win came in the same car Trey Hod­dock­built car that Jankowiak had won with and that the late Ted Christopher had driven in the 2017 In­door Auto Rac­ing Se­ries.

“I had some big shoes to fill,” Kreut­ter said. “Teddy was last guy to drive this year and Andy was a proven win­ner in it. I kept think­ing, ‘ just don’t make a mis­take in traf­fic, and don’t slip up and get turned around’. I couldn’t be any hap­pier.”

NASCAR Whe­len Mod­i­fied Tour­ing Se­ries com­peti­tor Justin Bon­signore of Holtsville, Long Is­land, N. Y., raced his way to the win in the first fea­ture of the week­end Fri­day night.

Bon­signore started 20th in the 25- car field.

“I had to start way back when the front end of my car broke in my heat race,” Bon­signore said. “I had to win the B Main to even start 20th. But the car was al­ways fast. It was just a mat­ter of hav­ing the luck to get through the wrecks.”

In the Sling­shot co- fea­ture, Danny Buc­ca­fusca won his se­cond ca­reer PPL Cen­ter In­door Auto Rac­ing Se­ries event. Buc­ca­fusca faced down two de­ter­mined ri­vals. Kyle Herve was on Buc­ca­fusca’s bumper for the first 15 laps of the af­fair and ac­tu­ally passed Buc­ca­fusca for the lead but the pass was negated with a crash re­verted the se­rial scor­ing back to the pre­vi­ously com­pleted lap.

Herve never chal­lenged again and in­stead was him­self passed by An­thony Rais­ner, whose charge from deep in the field earned him the E. Sch­nei­der & Sons ‘ Scrap­per Of The Race’ award and $ 150. Brett Bieber and Dy­lan Hoch com­pleted the top five.

Five TQ qual­i­fy­ing heat races were won by Holmes, Az­za­lina, Kreut­ter, Shawn Nye and Tommy Cata­lano. Earl Paules won the C Main, and Tyler Thomp­son the B Main. Cata­lano won the TQ Dash.

Sling­shot qual­i­fy­ing heats for the 33 en­trants were won by Chris Kurtz, Marc Daniels and Kurt Bet­tler and Seth Spayd. Joe Toth and Rais­ner won the pair of B Mains.

The next race for the In­door Auto Rac­ing Se­ries Fu­eled By VP Race Fu­els is on Jan­uary 26 and 27 in­side At­lantic City’s his­toric Board­walk Hall.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.