Wat­son Man­ning Award win­ner

The Hazleton Standard-Speaker - - SPORTS -

NEW OR­LEANS (AP) — Clem­son quar ter­back De­shaun Wat­son has been named the first re­peat win­ner of the Man­ning Award, which is pre­sented by the Sugar Bowl to the na­tion’s top col­lege quar ter­back af­ter the post­sea­son.

Wat­son is com­ing off his se­cond con­sec­u­tive 400yard pass­ing per­for­mance in a na­tional cham­pi­onship game. On Mon­day night, he led Clem­son to its first na­tional ti­tle since 1981 by pass­ing for 420 yards and three touch­downs, in­clud­ing the game-win­ning score in the fi­nal sec­onds of a 35-31 vic­tor y over pre­vi­ously un­beaten and No. 1 Alabama. Wat­son also rushed for a touch­down.

This sea­son, Wat­son passed for 4,593 yards and 41 touch­downs to go with 629 yards and nine touch­downs rush­ing.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.