Krachun earns spot in big race; Whit­moyer wins Sports­man Coal­cracker 40

Northern Berks Patriot Item - - SPORTS - Staff re­ports

Big Di­a­mond

The Steel and Metal Ser­vice Cen­ter mod­i­fied non­win­ner fea­ture was won by Ryan Krachun who re­ceives the guar­an­teed re­draw spot for the Coal­cracker 72 that was set for Sun­day, Sept. 3. He was fol­lowed by Bobby Gun­ther Walsh and Jim Bob­bitt.

The Sports­man Lein­decker Race En­gines Coal­cracker 40 was won by Craig Whit­moyer, Mike Lisowski, Matt Stan­gle, Brian Papiez, Ray Woodall Jr., Wayne Wit­mer, Louden Reimert, Ken Eck­ert Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Ryan Higgs, Kevin Brady, and John McGovern. Did not fin­ish were Dave Dissinger, Shawn Light, Mike Bur­rows, Mike Sch­neck, Matt Clay, Doug Hen­dricks, Ed Mrochko, TJ Fitz­patrick, Glenn Rowan, Daryl Dissinger and Nathan Mohr.

The sports­man heats were won by Mike Lis­woski, Brian Papiez and Craig Whit­moyer. The con­so­la­tion was won by Ed Mrochko. Did not qual­ify were Gary Grim, BJ Joly and Chris Bren­nan.

The sports­man chal­lenge race over­all race was won by Doug Hen­dricks over Matt Stan­gle. Stan­gle won two races and Ray Woodall Sr. won four races.

The Sav­age 61 Roadrunner fea­ture was won by Kody Sites, Shawn Mul­hall, Terry Kramer, Mike Re­ichert, Jon Sch­lauch, Jim Kost, Shon Elk, Fred Everly, Matt Ney, An­drew Buchin­ski and Devin Trexler. Did not fin­ish was Alex Dit­zler.

The Jasen’s Au­to­mo­tive Street Stock Sum­mer Shootout 30 lap fea­ture was won by Jasen Geesaman fol­lowed by Eric Tripp, Chris Heller, Chris Derr, Joey Bren­nan, Steve Dove, Jeff Haag, Robin Wag­ner and Dean Hine. Did not fin­ish were Leroy Long, Justin Rhoads, Elvin Bren­nan III, Jesse Kras­nit­sky and Ryan Smith. Did not start was Bobby Kupp.

The street stock heats were won by Chris Heller and Eric Tripp.

The street stock cash dash was won by Chris Heller fol­lowed by Eric Tripp, Elvin Bren­nan III and Joey Bren­nan.

The Vin­tage race was won by Doug Stepan Chuck, Ron My­ers, Todd Lapp, Andy Cas­sell, Bob Hall, Rick Mut­ter, Rich Decker, Tom Orth, and Boomer Brush. Did not start was Chris Reid.

Grand­view Speed­way

Mother Na­ture forced can­cel­la­tion of the Satur­day night stock car rac­ing ac­tion at Grand­view Speed­way. It marked the eighth time this sea­son that weather has im­pacted the Satur­day night rac­ing ac­tion at the Berks County clay oval.

The fi­nal NASCAR point event of the sea­son is set for Satur­day, Septem­ber 9th. In­cluded in the night of stock car rac­ing ex­cite­ment will be twin 30-lap fea­tures for the TP Trail­ers 358 Mod­i­fieds along with rac­ing for the BRC Late Mod­els and Sports­man. The triple­header show will close out the Satur­day night sea­son of NASCAR rac­ing. Cham­pi­onships will be de­cided in all three di­vi­sions. The Blast from the Past Vin­tage Rac­ers that had been sched­uled have been re­moved from the sched­ule and will next be seen at Grand­view on Septem­ber 30th with the En­duro rac­ers.

Craig VonDohren sits on top of the NASCAR Mod­i­fied stand­ings with 3784 points while Jeff Strunk is sec­ond with 3551 coun­ters. Both driv­ers have been ti­tle­hold­ers at Grand­view sev­eral times. Mike Gu­lar is third with 3550 points and look­ing for his first cham­pi­onship. Duane Howard is fourth hav­ing earned 3506 points with­out ben­e­fit of a fea­ture win while vet­eran Doug Man­miller has 3318 tal­lies putting him fifth in the stand­ings. There has been 12 dif­fer­ent fea­ture win­ners dur­ing the sea­son in the Mod­i­fied divi­sion so far.

Brian Hirth­ler leads the Sports­man stand­ings, as he has most of the sea­son, with 2801 points with Craig Whit­moyer and Brad Grim clos­ing in. Whit­moyer sits with 2665 points and Grim has a to­tal of 2641.

And in the Late Mod­els cur­rent point leader and de­fend­ing cham­pion Chuck Schutz has 3585 points, a 300 point edge over Bryon Sipe’s 3285. Steve Todorow is third with 3206.

Adult ad­mis­sion is just $15 while young­sters 11 and un­der are free.

Ad­vance tick­ets for the 47th An­nual Free­dom 76 Classic in honor of Bruce Rogers will be avail­able on Satur­day night. The ad­vance tick­ets are priced at $35 each. On race day they will be priced at $40. The Septem­ber 16th Classic will pay $30,000 to the win­ner and is ex­pected to at­tract many of the top names in dirt track Mod­i­fied stock car rac­ing. Ac­tion will get un­der­way at 7 p.m.

The night be­fore the Mid-At­lantic Sprint Se­ries will be in ac­tion along with the Sports­man rac­ing in the Free­dom 38’er of­fer­ing $1500 to the win­ner. Mod­i­fieds en­tered in the Free­dom 76 will be al­lowed to par­tic­i­pate in prac­tice ses­sions. Adult ad­mis­sion is $12, young­sters 6 thru 11 pay just $5 and un­der 6 are ad­mit­ted free.

The Free­dom 76 has a Septem­ber 23rd rain date while the Fri­day night events have no rain date.

For ad­di­tional in­for­ma­tion check in at www. grand­viewspeed­ and link with Free­dom 76. The track phone num­ber is 610.754.7688.

Shell­ham­mer’s Speed­way

Re­sults from Aug. 30 “Win­g­less” 125 MI­CRO SPRINT Fastest fea­ture lap: Jas Hehnly, lap 3, 9.819, 45.831 mph 1. KYLER HEINEY 2. Cliff Brian Jr 3. Ron Zim­mer­man 4. Shane Davis 5. Jas Hehnly 6. Olivia Pel­lic­ciotti Dy­lan Bar­lip (DNS) XCEL SPORTS­MAN MOD­I­FIED fastest fea­ture lap: Ja­son Dunkel­berger, lap 10, 9.546, 47.141 mph 1. JA­SON DUNKEL­BERGER 2. Cody Man­miller 3. Dakota Kohler 4. Jar­rett Im­ler 5. Bri­anna James SE­NIOR SLING­SHOT fastest fea­ture lap: Dil­lon Em­mons, lap 20, 10.523, 42.764 mph 1. BRETT BIEBER 2. Dil­lon Em­mons 3. Dakota Kohler 4. Jeff Kemp 5. Rod­ney Ulsh 6, John Arms 7. Lee Schantzen­bach 8. Gavin Dan­ner 9. Tyler Ulsh “win­g­less” 270 MI­CRO SPRINT fastest fea­ture lap: Bran­don Edgar, lap 11, 9.491, 47.412 mph 1. BRAN­DON EDGAR 2. Josh Schaf­fer 3. Adam Minzer Jr 4. Mike Kal­man 5. Mike Ruther­ford 6. Glenn Ma­comber 7. Matt Hoff­man 8. Troy Hoff­man


Brett Bieber (#32) led the Se­nior Sling­shot class from green flag to check­ers. Also pic­tured are Dakota Kohler (#59K), Dil­lon Em­mons (#92) and last week’s win­ner Jeff Kemp (#383).


Bran­don Edgar races in the Win­g­less 270 Mi­cro Sprint race at Shell­ham­mer’s Speed­way on Aug. 31.


Craig Whit­moyer poses in vic­tory lane af­ter win­ning the sports­man Coal­cracker 40 on Sept. 1 at Big Di­a­mond.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.