Moli­tor, Lovullo earn Man­agers of the Year hon­ors

The Maui News - - SPORTS - By BEN WALKER

Paul Moli­tor of the Min­nesota Twins and Torey Lovullo of the Ari­zona Di­a­mond­backs were voted Man­agers of the Year by the Base­ball Writ­ers’ As­so­ci­a­tion of Amer­ica on Tues­day.

Moli­tor won the Amer­i­can League award af­ter the Twins be­came the first team to make the play­offs fol­low­ing a 100loss sea­son.

He joined Frank Robinson as the only Hall of Fame play­ers to win a man­ager of the year award, which was first pre­sented in 1983.

The Twins went 85-77 this sea­son and earned their first play­off spot since 2010 be­fore los­ing to the Yan­kees in the AL wild-card game. Last year, the Twins led the ma­jors with 103 losses.

Lovullo won the NL award in his first full sea­son as a big league skip­per as Ari­zona reached the play­offs a year af­ter go­ing 69-93.

Cleve­land’s Terry Fran­cona was sec­ond and Hous­ton’s A.J. Hinch fin­ished third in AL vot­ing. In the NL, the Los An­ge­les Dodgers’ Dave Roberts was sec­ond and Colorado’s Bud Black was third.



Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.