The 2015 Acura TLX: Safety Leader and In­no­va­tor

The Washington Post Sunday - - AUTOMOTIVE -

Acura TLX is third new Acura model to earn high­est pos­si­ble safety rat­ings from both the NHTSA and IIHS TLX is one of only three new mid­size luxury/near luxury ve­hi­cles to earn top NHTSA and IIHS safety rat­ings Acura brand is po­si­tioned for safety lead­er­ship with all mod­els ex­pected to achieve an NCAP 5-Star Over­all Ve­hi­cle Score and IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK+ rat­ing and the NHTSA 5-Star Over­all Ve­hi­cle Score. Acura con­tin­ues to ad­vance its rep­u­ta­tion as a safety leader and in­no­va­tor with the 2015 Acura TLX re­ceiv­ing a 5-Star Over­all Ve­hi­cle Score, the top avail­able rat­ing in the U.S. gov­ern­ment’s New Car As­sess­ment Pro­gram (NCAP), in­clud­ing 5-stars in all six ve­hi­cle test modes. The Acura TLX per­for­mance luxury sedan, in­tro­duced in Au­gust 2014, has quickly be­come one of Acura’s best-sell­ing ve­hi­cles and is one of only three 2015 model ve­hi­cles in the mid­size luxury/near luxury cat­e­gory to earn both the In­sur­ance In­sti­tute for High­way Safety (IIHS) TOP SAFETY PICK+ rat­ing and the NHTSA 5-Star Over­all Ve­hi­cle Score. “The TLX ex­em­pli­fies how ad­vanced safety per­for­mance is an in­her­ent part of how Acura de­liv­ers luxury,” said Michael Ac­cavitti, se­nior vice pres­i­dent and gen­eral manager, Acura Di­vi­sion. “Safety is a core value of the brand and all Acura mod­els are ex­pected to earn top safety scores. When you think of safety per­for­mance and luxury, you’ll think Acura.” Acura an­tic­i­pates earn­ing top NCAP and IIHS rat­ings for ev­ery model in its lineup for this year. The brand cur­rently has four mod­els earn­ing an Sys­tem™ (CMBS) with For­ward Col­li­sion Warn­ing (FCW) Adap­tive Cruise Con­trol (ACC) with Low-Speed Fol­low (LSF) Blind spot in­for­ma­tion (BSI) Lane Keep As­sist (LKAS) with Lane De­par­ture Warn­ing (LDW) Road De­par­ture Mit­i­ga­tion (RDM) Rear Cross Traf­fic Mon­i­tor Multi-View Rear Cam­era with Dy­namic Guide­lines The TLX also uti­lizes its nextgen­er­a­tion Ad­vanced Com­pat­i­bil­ity En­gi­neer­ing™ (ACE™) frontal body struc­ture along with ad­vanced airbags sys­tems – in­clud­ing front, side and side-cur­tain airbags – to pro­vide a high level of oc­cu­pant pro­tec­tion in a wide spec­trum of col­li­sion sce­nar­ios. The award-win­ning TLX is one of Acura’s best-sell­ing mod­els. De­signed to de­liver a unique and com­pelling blend of sports-sedan dy­namic pro­por­tion, pre­mium luxury re­fine­ment and su­per-han­dling per­for­mance, the TLX is ap­peal­ing to a broad cross-sec­tion of luxury cus­tomers with three new pow­er­trains and ad­vanced chas­sis tech­nolo­gies that re­spond in­tel­li­gently to the will of the driver. The TLX lineup fea­tures three dis­tinct model of­fer­ings that de­liver new lev­els of quiet­ness and ride com­fort for a lux­u­ri­ous driv­ing ex­pe­ri­ence.


NCAP 5-star Over­all Ve­hi­cle Score: the 2015 ILX, TLX, RDX and MDX. The Acura RLX sedan has yet to un­dergo NCAP testing. Three mod­els monoc­u­lar cam­era – to ex­pand both the scope and fidelity of the ve­hi­cle’s sens­ing ca­pa­bil­i­ties, in­clud­ing the abil­ity to sense

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.