Fox’s ‘Terra Nova’ won’t get sec­ond sea­son

The Washington Times Daily - - Television -

The pre­his­toric drama “Terra Nova” is his­tory on Fox. The net­work said late Mon­day that it is drop­ping the pricey sci-fi se­ries af­ter a sin­gle sea­son.

The am­bi­tious se­ries, filmed in Australia with ex­pen­sive spe­cial ef­fects, got a luke­warm re­cep­tion from view­ers last fall de­spite high an­tic­i­pa­tion from sci-fi fans. It av­er­aged less than 8 mil­lion view­ers weekly.

The se­ries fol­lowed a fam­ily on its jour­ney back to pre­his­toric Earth on a mis­sion to save the hu­man race. It starred Ja­son O’mara and Stephen Lang, with be­hind-the-scenes prin­ci­pals in­clud­ing Steven Spiel­berg.

“Terra Nova” was an­nounced in May 2010, but pro­duc­tion prob­lems led to re­peated de­lays in its de­but.

Mr. O’mara de­clared the show’s fate to his Twit­ter fol­low­ers Mon­day night, tweet­ing, “Bad news, guys. Terra Nova has been can­celed by Fox.” stunned and hu­mil­i­ated.

Af­ter Mr. Cherry was cleared by ABC-TV ex­ec­u­tives, he in­formed se­ries stars Eva Lon­go­ria and Felic­ity Huff­man that Ms. Sheri­dan’s role would be cut. He told ju­rors that decision had been made in May 2008, months be­fore his spat with the ac­tress.

On Tues­day, Ms. Sheri­dan’s at­tor­ney, Neil Meyer, tes­ti­fied that he has not been able to get her an act­ing job “for sev­eral years” in the wake of her fir­ing from “Des­per­ate Housewives,” ac­cord­ing to the Hol­ly­wood Re­porter. for the sec­ond year in a row.

“Mod­ern Fam­ily,” “Brides­maids,” “30 Rock,” “Crazy, Stupid, Love” and stand-up co­me­dian Louis C.K. lead the nom­i­na­tions for the sec­ond an­nual Com­edy Awards, which were an­nounced Tues­day.

The awards show, which honors and cel­e­brates the best in the world of com­edy, will be taped April 28 in New York and pre­miere on Com­edy Cen­tral on May 6. Last year, it also aired on sev­eral sib­ling net­works of the Vi­a­com chan­nel.

“Mod­ern Fam­ily,” hon­ored as the best com­edy se­ries last year, is once again nom­i­nated in that cat­e­gory (and four oth­ers) along with “30 Rock,” which also earned five nom­i­na­tions, “Curb Your En­thu­si­asm” (four), “Parks and Re­cre­ation” (three) and “Happy End­ings.”

Com­edy film nom­i­nees in­clude “Brides­maids” and “Crazy, Stupid, Love,” which also nabbed five nom­i­na­tions each, “Mid­night in Paris” and “Hor­ri­ble Bosses,” both of which have four nom­i­na­tions, as well as the Academy Award-win­ning “The Artist,” which re­ceived three nom­i­na­tions.

Among the per­form­ers nom­i­nated for best film ac­tor are Ja­son Bate­man (“Hor­ri­ble Bosses”), Steve Carell (“Crazy, Stupid, Love”), Jean Du­jardin (“The Artist”), Zach Gal­i­fi­anakis (“The Hang­over Part II”) and Owen Wil­son (“Mid­night in Paris”). Jen­nifer Anis­ton (“Hor­ri­ble Bosses”), Cameron Diaz (“Bad Teacher”), Emma Stone (“Crazy, Stupid, Love”) and Melissa Mccarthy and Kris­ten Wiig (both for “Brides­maids”) are nom­i­nated in the best film ac­tress cat­e­gory.

The nom­i­nees for the best TV ac­tress honors are Zooey Deschanel (“New Girl”), Tina Fey (“30 Rock”), Amy Poehler (“Parks and Re­cre­ation”), Miss Wiig (“Satur­day Night Live”) and Sofia Ver­gara (“Mod­ern Fam­ily”). In the TV ac­tor cat­e­gory, Alec Bald­win (“30 Rock”), Ty Bur­rell (“Mod­ern Fam­ily”), Louis C.K. (“Louie”), Steve Carell (“The Of­fice”) and Larry David (“Curb Your En­thu­si­asm”) are nom­i­nated.

Nom­i­nees were se­lected by the Com­edy Awards board of di­rec­tors, which in­cludes such big names as Carol Bur­nett, James Bur­rows, Stephen Col­bert, Brad Grey, Co­nan O’brien, Joan Rivers, Jay Roach, Chris Rock, Ray Ro­mano and Jon Ste­wart. Win­ners will be cho­sen by the Com­edy Awards Vot­ing Body, com­posed of pro­fes­sion­als from the com­edy in­dus­try.

Fans can vote on­line for their pick for break­out per­former of the year. The nom­i­nees in that cat­e­gory are Miss Deschanel, Josh Gad, Don­ald Glover, Miss Mccarthy and Ja­son Sudeikis.

The Com­edy Awards will also bring back the Johnny Car­son Award and the Com­edy Icon Award, whose re­cip­i­ents will be an­nounced later. Last year’s re­cip­i­ents were David Let­ter­man and Eddie Mur­phy, re­spec­tively.


Ja­son O’mara (left) an­nounced on his Twit­ter ac­count Mon­day that Fox’s “Terra Nova” has been can­celed af­ter one sea­son. The pre­his­toric drama also stars (from left) Lan­don Li­bo­iron, Shel­ley Conn, Alana Man­sour and Naomi Scott.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.