Hur­dle, Fran­cona named top man­agers for big turn­arounds

The Washington Times Daily - - Sports -

Clint Hur­dle has won the NL Man­ager of the Year award af­ter guid­ing the Pitts­burgh Pi­rates to the play­offs in their first win­ning sea­son since 1992 and Terry Fran­cona won AL hon­ors for engineering a 24-game turn­around with the Cleve­land In­di­ans.

Hur­dle was a run­away NL win­ner, se­lected first on 25 of 30 bal­lots from a Base­ball Writ­ers’ As­so­ci­a­tion of Amer­ica panel in vot­ing to­tals re­vealed Tues­day. Don Mat­tingly of the Los An­ge­les Dodgers was sec­ond and Fredi Gon­za­lez of the At­lanta Braves fin­ished third.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.