Rabada scoops six top South African awards

Chronicle (Zimbabwe) - - Sport Starts Here -

JO­HAN­NES­BURG — Kag­iso Rabada hit the record books for a six when he was named South African Crick­eter of the Year and in all re­ceived a to­tal of six awards at a glit­ter­ing Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards ban­quet in Sand­ton on Tues­day night.

He is the first player to win six in­di­vid­ual awards — both AB de Vil­liers and Hashim Amla had pre­vi­ously won five — and at the age of 21 years 62 days is by far the youngest to have won South African cricket’s pre­mier ac­co­lade.

The other eight play­ers to have re­ceived CSA’s most pres­ti­gious award are Jac­ques Kal­lis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) and AB de Vil­liers (2014 and 2015) who have all won the award twice with the other pre­vi­ous win­ners be­ing Shaun Pol­lock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), and Ver­non Phi­lan­der (2012).

In ad­di­tion to the main award, Rabada was named Cas­tle Lager Test Crick­eter of the Year and Cas­tle Lager ODI Crick­eter of the Year, was hon­oured by his peers by be­ing named SA Play­ers’ Player of the Year and by the fans on be­ing named SA Fans Player of the Year.

He re­ceived his sixth award for bowl­ing the RAM de­liv­ery of the Year to Eng­land’s Ja­son Roy in the KFC T20 In­ter­na­tional at the Bid­vest Wan­der­ers Sta­dium.

His in­ter­na­tional sta­tis­tics are re­mark­able with 24 wick­ets in only six matches at an av­er­age of 24.70 with a strike rate of 39.6 and 37 wick­ets in 20 ODIs at an av­er­age of 21.45 with an econ­omy rate of 4.78 and a strike rate of 26.9.

The only awards he did not win for which he was el­i­gi­ble were the Ox­i­gen T20 In­ter­na­tional Player of the Year award that went to Im­ran Tahir and the KFC So Good award that went to Temba Bavuma.

Stephen Cook, who made a cen­tury on test de­but, was named In­ter­na­tional New­comer of the Year while the new na­tional cap­tain, Dane van Niek­erk, was named Mo­men­tum Women’s Crick­eter of the Year.

“Sim­ply out­stand­ing! Con­grat­u­la­tions to Kag­iso on record­ing one of the most re­mark­able de­but years that any young crick­eter has achieved in our his­tory,” com­mented CSA Chief Ex­ec­u­tive, Haroon Lor­gat.

“Added to his record-breaking per­for­mances and sta­tis­tics, is his hu­mil­ity and level head­ed­ness that you would nor­mally as­so­ciate with a se­nior player.

“With in­juries to our main fast bowlers dur­ing this past year, he has had to step up and lead the at­tack. How bril­liantly has he done that!

“This may not have been the best year for the Proteas in a team sense, but there have been some great in­di­vid­ual per­for­mances, es­pe­cially from new­com­ers to the side. Temba Bavuma and Stephen Cook, who are other award win­ners this evening plus Quin­ton de Kock have all recorded their maiden test cen­turies.

“Our do­mes­tic cricket re­mains blessed with great tal­ents and con­grat­u­la­tions to all the win­ners in that cat­e­gory as well.

“I warmly con­grat­u­late all our win­ners, both at in­ter­na­tional and do­mes­tic level, and let us not for­get to ac­knowl­edge our um­pires, grounds staff and scor­ers, too.” The Mul­ti­ply Ti­tans were the big­gest win­ners in the Pro­fes­sional Awards: Do­mes­tic cat­e­gory with Heino Kuhn be­ing named Sun­foil Se­ries Crick­eter of the Year as well as the Do­mes­tic Play­ers’ Player of the Year, Rob Wal­ter be­ing named Pitchvi­sion Coach of the Year and Al­bie Morkel RAM SLAM­MER of the Year. In ad­di­tion, Lungi Ngidi of North­erns was the first win­ner of the Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tour­na­ment.

The bizhub Lions also had a good evening with Alviro Petersen be­ing named Mo­men­tum One-Day Cup Player of the Year, Nicky van den Bergh Do­mes­tic New­comer of the Year and Dwaine Pre­to­rius re­ceiv­ing the SACA Most Valu­able Player award. The Cape Co­bras won the Fair Play award. Adrian Hold­stock was named Um­pire of the Year while Bethuel Buthelezi achieved the dis­tinc­tion of be­ing named grounds­man of the year in his first sea­son as head cu­ra­tor at the Bid­vest Wan­der­ers Bull­ring.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Zimbabwe

© PressReader. All rights reserved.