Re­gional lead­ers to meet on money laun­der­ing

Chronicle (Zimbabwe) - - Business - Busi­ness Re­porter

THE East­ern and South­ern Africa Anti-Money Laun­der­ing Group (ESAAMLG) and the South­ern African Devel­op­ment Com­mu­nity (Sadc) coun­cil of min­is­ters will meet this month for their bi-an­nual task force meet­ing.

The pur­pose of the ESAAMLG is to com­bat money laun­der­ing by im­ple­ment­ing the fi­nan­cial ac­tion task force rec­om­men­da­tions.

This ef­fort in­cludes co-or­di­nat­ing with other in­ter­na­tional or­gan­i­sa­tions con­cerned with com­bat­ing money laun­der­ing and de­vel­op­ing in­sti­tu­tional and hu­man re­source ca­pac­i­ties to deal with these is­sues, and co-or­di­nat­ing tech­ni­cal as­sis­tance.

“The 32nd task force meet­ing of the se­nior of­fi­cials will be held from Au­gust 28, 2016 to Septem­ber 1, 2016 in Vic­to­ria Falls, Zim­babwe,” or­gan­is­ers said.

“The task force meet­ing will be fol­lowed by the coun­cil of min­is­ters’ meet­ing on Septem­ber 2, 2016 and the public/pri­vate sec­tor dia­logue, which will start from Septem­ber 2 to 3, 2016. The venue for the meet­ings will be Ele­phant Hills Re­sort Ho­tel.”

The Sadc coun­cil of min­is­ters, which is part of the re­gional bloc’s ex­tra­or­di­nary sum­mit of heads of State and gov­ern­ment over­sees the func­tion­ing and devel­op­ment of Sadc and en­sures that poli­cies are prop­erly im­ple­mented.

It con­sists of min­is­ters from each mem­ber state, usu­ally from the min­istries of for­eign af­fairs, eco­nomic plan­ning, or fi­nance. It meets twice a year in Jan­uary or Fe­bru­ary and im­me­di­ately prior to the ex­tra­or­di­nary sum­mit on in­dus­tri­al­i­sa­tion in Au­gust or Septem­ber.

Fol­low­ing the Au­gust 2014 sum­mit, a re­gional min­is­te­rial task force was set up and it met in Fe­bru­ary this year to con­sider the strat­egy and road map for in­dus­tri­al­i­sa­tion in Sadc.

The in­dus­tri­al­i­sa­tion sum­mit seeks to eval­u­ate how Sadc is pro­gress­ing on its man­date of eco­nomic devel­op­ment to im­prove liveli­hoods in a peace­ful, sus­tain­able and sta­ble re­gion.

Mem­ber states of ESAAMLG are An­gola, Botswana, Co­moros, Ethiopia, Kenya, Le­sotho and Malawi. Other mem­bers are Mau­ri­tius, Mozam­bique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swazi­land, Sey­chelles, Tan­za­nia, Uganda, Zam­bia and Zim­babwe. — @Bian­caMlilo

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Zimbabwe

© PressReader. All rights reserved.