Wizkid top of 2016 MAMA nom­i­na­tions

Chronicle (Zimbabwe) - - Leisure -

WIZKID, Cassper Ny­ovest, AKA and Sauti Sol re­ceived mul­ti­ple nom­i­na­tions for the MTV Africa Mu­sic Awards (MA­MAs) with the Ojuelegba singer top­ping the list with three nom­i­na­tions in the Best Male, Best Col­lab­o­ra­tion and Per­son­al­ity of the Year cat­e­gories.

Next in line with two nom­i­na­tions each are South­ern rap­per ri­vals AKA and Cassper, and Kenyan band Sauti Sol. The Best Hip Hop cat­e­gory has two South African artists Em­tee and Riky Rick, who are up against Nigeria’s Olamide and Kiff No Beat from Ivory Coast.

The Best Group cat­e­gory has Ghana’s R2bees bat­tling Sauti Sol, South Africa’s Mi Casa, Navy Kenzo from Tan­za­nia and To­golese duo, Toofan.

The sixth edi­tion of the awards cer­e­mony has been sched­uled for Oc­to­ber 22 in Jo­han­nes­burg. The sec­ond round of nom­i­na­tions will be re­vealed on Oc­to­ber 2 in La­gos, Nigeria dur­ing the Road to MAMA – La­gos event.

It com­prises an an­nounce­ment of seven ad­di­tional award cat­e­gories namely, Artiste of the Year, Best Fe­male, Lis­tener’s Choice, Best Break­through, Best Fran­co­phone, Song of the Year in part­ner­ship with Google, and Video of the Year.

Vot­ing be­gins on Septem­ber 21 at 11PM on the MTV Base web­site. It is worth not­ing that fans can vote for Best Group and Best In­ter­na­tional by sim­ply search­ing for “MTV MAMA” on Google.

Each Google ac­count is al­lowed five votes per cat­e­gory per day. Google vot­ing for Best Break­through and Song of the Year will open on Oc­to­ber 2.

Vot­ing in all cat­e­gories closes at 11:59PM on Oc­to­ber 19. These are the nom­i­nees thus far: Best Male AKA (South Africa) Black Cof­fee (South Africa) Di­a­mond (Tan­za­nia) Pa­torank­ing (Nigeria) Wizkid (Nigeria) Best Live Cassper Ny­ovest (South Africa) Eddy Kenzo (Uganda) Flavour (Nigeria) Mafik­i­zolo (South Africa) Stoneb­woy (Ghana) Best Group Mi Casa (South Africa) Navy Kenzo (Tan­za­nia) R2bees (Ghana) Sauti Sol (Kenya) Toofan (Togo) Best Col­lab­o­ra­tion in part­ner­ship with Ab­so­lut

AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana – ‘Bad­dest’ (South Africa/Nigeria)

DJ Mapho­risa feat. Wizkid & DJ Bucks — ‘Soweto Baby’ (South Africa/Nigeria)

Nasty C feat. Davido, Cassper — ‘Juice Back Remix’ (Nigeria/South Africa)

Pa­torank­ing feat. Sarkodie — ‘No Kiss­ing’ (Nigeria/Ghana)

Sauti Sol feat. Alik­iba — ‘Un­con­di­tion­ally Bae’ (Kenya/Tan­za­nia) Best Hip Hop in as­so­ci­a­tion with MTN Em­tee (South Africa) Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast) Olamide (Nigeria) Riky Rick (South Africa) Ycee (Nigeria) Best Pop/Al­ter­na­tive Des­mond & The Tu­tus (South Africa) LCNVL (South Africa) Shek­inah (South Africa) / Kyle Deutsch (South Africa) Timo ODV (South Africa) Tre­sor (DRC) Best Lu­so­phone C4 Pe­dro (An­gola) NGA (An­gola) Lizha James (Mozam­bique) Nel­son Fre­itas (Nether­lands/Cape Verde) Preto Show (An­gola) Per­son­al­ity of the Year in as­so­ci­a­tion with DStv Caster Se­menya (South Africa) Linda Ikeji (Nigeria) Pearl Thusi (South Africa) Pierre Em­er­ick Aubameyang (Gabon) Wizkid (Nigeria) Best In­ter­na­tional Adele (UK) Bey­oncé (USA) Drake (Canada) Fu­ture (USA) Ri­hanna (Bar­ba­dos) — On­line

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Zimbabwe

© PressReader. All rights reserved.