Chelsea, Spurs stars head­line PFA Team of the Year

Chronicle (Zimbabwe) - - Sport Starts Here -

LON­DON — Ta­ble-top­ping Chelsea and their ti­tle ri­vals Tot­ten­ham both have four play­ers in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Chelsea mid­field­ers N’Golo Kante and Eden Haz­ard, both nom­i­nated for the PFA Player of the Year award, are in­cluded, while Blues cen­tral de­fend­ers Gary Cahill and David Luiz are also in the line-up.

Spurs, who trail Chelsea by four points in the ti­tle race, are rep­re­sented by mid­fielder Dele Alli and striker Harry Kane, as well as full-backs Danny Rose and Kyle Walker.

Manch­ester United’s David De Gea gets the nod in goal, while Liver­pool winger Sa­dio Mane and Ever­ton striker Romelu Lukaku, the divi­sion’s top scorer with 24 goals, com­plete the line-up.

While Kane and Lukaku are also on the short­list for player of the year, the other two nom­i­nees, United’s Zla­tan Ibrahi­movic and Alexis Sanchez of Arse­nal, miss out. An­thony Knock­aert is one of four Brighton play­ers in the Cham­pi­onship Team of the Year. e French mid­fielder, the Cham­pi­onship’s Player of the Year, is joined by goal­keeper David Stock­dale and de­fend­ers Bruno and Lewis Dunk for the Seag­ulls, who cel­e­brated pro­mo­tion on Mon­day. New­cas­tle trio Jonjo Shelvey, Ja­maal Las­celles and Dwight Gayle are in­cluded, along with Leeds striker Chris Wood, Aaron Mooy of Hud­der­s­field and Ful­ham duo Tom Cair­ney and 16-year-old full-back Ryan Sesseg­non. — AFP.

Eden Haz­ard

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Zimbabwe

© PressReader. All rights reserved.