For­mer Aus­tralian cap­tain Steve Smith capped an­other dom­i­nant year by win­ning the McGilvray Medal for the fourth time in a row.

ABC Cricket - - CONTENTS -

The for­mer Aus­tralian cap­tain claims his fourth straight McGilvray Medal.

Steve Smith won the award, recog­nis­ing the most valu­able Aus­tralian Test player over a cal­en­dar year as voted by the ABC Grand­stand com­men­tary team, after con­tin­u­ing his supreme form in 2017.

Smith be­came the 11th crick­eter to score 1000 Test runs in a cal­en­dar year, ac­cu­mu­lat­ing 1305 runs at an av­er­age of 76.8, with five cen­turies and a dou­ble cen­tury – his top score was 239 against Eng­land in Perth.

The win makes Smith the first crick­eter to win the medal four times, go­ing past for­mer Aus­tralian cap­tain Michael Clarke, who won in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

The award is named in hon­our of for­mer crick­eter and leg­endary ABC broad­caster Alan McGilvray, who called cricket for over 50 years.

The 2018 judg­ing pe­riod will en­com­pass Aus­tralia’s con­tro­ver­sial four-Test tour of South Africa, two Tests against Pak­istan in the UAE, and the first three Tests of the home se­ries against In­dia.

Pat Cum­mins starred in South Africa as Aus­tralia’s lead­ing wicket-taker with 22 scalps, as well as reg­is­ter­ing a half-cen­tury in Jo­han­nes­burg. Tim Paine was Aus­tralia’s third-lead­ing run-scorer on tour, be­hind sus­pended duo Cam Ban­croft and David Warner.

The 2018 award will be pre­sented at the Syd­ney Test in the New Year.

Steve Smith stands with mem­bers of Alan McGilvray’s fam­ily and the ABC’s Jim Maxwell dur­ing the Syd­ney Test, Jan­uary 2018.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.